Research Guides: Long Beach and Local History: Rosie the Riveter

Best Databases for Journal Articles

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use it to search for journal articles in American history
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use it for journal articles on education and curriculum
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For articles on Women's Studies
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Local stories on Rosie
History Vault This link opens in a new window Includes Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate, 1960-1975; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century; Workers, Labor Unions, and Radical Politics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MAS Ultra This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use it to find articles suitable for high school students

Media, Film

The life and times of Rosie the Riveter (film) by Connie Field
Publication Date: 1980
Five women, who worked in the shipyards and defense plants during World War II, recount their experiences at work and offer comments on society's expectations of them during the war effort and after the war. Their narratives are interspersed with sequences from war department films, newsreels, and Hollywood movies made during that time which concerned women working outside the home.
Rosie the Riveter Documentaries on the Internet
Publication Date: various years
Possibly useful interviews and documentaries on Rosie the Riveter

Library Special Collections, 3rd Floor

Rosie the Riveter Revisited by Cindy Cleary, Jan Fischer, Sherna Berger Gluck.
Call Number: Available Online
Publication Date: 1980-1981
Listen to Oral Histories recorded from women in the Long Beach area

The Rosie the Riveter Collection: World War II Era. (Oral Histories, Paper Files)

The collection provides a firsthand account of American women's experiences as defense workers during WWII. CSULB oral historian, Sherna Berger Gluck, directed extensive interviews with over forty "Rosie the Riveters," focusing on the long-term effects of their wartime work experience

Websites

Rosie the Riveter revisited by Cindy Cleary, Jan Fischer, Sherna Berger Gluck
Publication Date: 1980-1981
Presents the oral histories of 45 women who worked in the aircraft industry in Los Angeles during World War 2. The life history interviews, which vary in length from an average of three hours to as much as nine hours, document both the narrators' wartime experience and the longer term impact of that work experience. Most of the women worked as riveters and/or buckers, but two served as women counselors and several of the others ended up in white collar positions by war's end.

Books In Our Library

To find books in our library, mark the circle next to BOOKS & MEDIA CSULB

OneSearch Advanced Search
This service will locate 1.25 million books available in the University Library. It provides links to print books, e-books books and government documents.

Below are a few books we have in our library

Creating Rosie the Riveter: Class, Gender, and Propaganda during World War II by Maureen Honey
ISBN: 0870234439
Publication Date: 1985-07-05
From Coveralls to Zoot Suits: the lives of Mexican American women on the World War II home front by Elizabeth R. Escobedo
ISBN: 1-4696-2209-2
Publication Date: 2013-03-21
The life and times of Rosie the Riveter : the story of three million working women during World War II by Miriam Frank; Connie Field
ISBN: 9780960733415
Publication Date: 1982
This is a juvenile book in 3rd floor Special Collections
Rosie the Riveter: women working on the home front in World War II by Penny Colman
ISBN: 0517597918
Publication Date: 1995-02-21
Juvenile Literature
Rosie the Riveter in Long Beach by Gerrie Schipske
ISBN: 9780738558141
Publication Date: 2008-04-30
Rosie the Riveter Revisited: women, the war, and social change by Sherna Berger Gluck
ISBN: 0452010241
Publication Date: 1988-05-01
Rosie the Rubber Worker: women workers in Akron's rubber factories during World War II by Kathleen L. Endres
ISBN: 9780873386678
Publication Date: 2000-09-11

Google books

Here is a list of books on Rosie the Riveter from Google Books. Note the items that say "preview" or "read". You may be able to browse significant portions of some books in these cases.

Google Journal Articles

Here are some Google Scholar articles discussing "Rosie the Riveter"

Google Historical Newspapers

Here are some California newspaper articles since 1942 mentioning "Rosie the Riveter"