Research Guides: Long Beach and Local History: Find Articles / Databases

Google Scholar Search

Tip: Look for GetIt@CSULB, on the right side of the search results, to find the full text of an article.

Not Available at CSULB?

Is your article not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through CSU+ straight from OneSearch to get full-text of any article.

You can request an item directly if you can't find it in OneSearch.

Need more information? Visit Borrow From Another Library, our interlibrary services page.

Article Databases for Local Topics

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Alternative Press Index
Print newspaper index for "underground" publications. Especially useful for local counterculture history from 1969-1990.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

California Digital Newspaper Collection
A collection of free full text searchable historic newspapers, inlcuding these:
• California Star 1847-1848
• Daily Alta California 1849-1891
• Imperial Valley News 1901-1911
• Los Angeles Herald 1905-1911
• Pacific Rural Press (SF) 1871-1922
• Sacramento Daily Union 1851-1898
• San Francisco Call 1890-1913

California Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window Full text facsimile content of California newspapers from 1846 to date. Includes Long Beach newspapers, 1938-1977, Orange County Register 1913-2016 and many other regional California newspapers.
- This link opens in a new window

California News Index
Short lived print index to California newspapers and magazines from 1970-1975.

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window U.S. Government publications U.S. Bills & Laws (1789-2013); House and Senate Hearings & Reports (1817-2018) and Miscellaneous documents (1789-2003); Maps (1789-2007); CRS-Congressional Research Service Reports (1916-2003); Executive Orders & Proclamations (1789-2017)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices: Open Access Alternative Press This link opens in a new window 1950 to Date: An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of libraries. Covers topics related to feminism, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press. Includes LA Free Press and Berkeley Barb

Long Beach Public Library Digital Archive
Discover photos, Long Beach city directories and Long Beach high school yearbooks. The LBPL Digital Archive will eventually include more than 10,000 historic photographs!
Long Beach Public Library History Index
"Stories from local newspapers -- the Long Beach Press Telegram, the Press, the Press Telegram, and several weekly newspapers -- are indexed in the Long Beach Public Library History Index, along with selected magazine articles, pamphlets, and documents" Articles date back to the early 1900s.
Online Archive of California
Produced by UC Berkeley, "The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses"
USC Digital Library
Provides digital or bibliographic access to the following USC collections, plus others. Select from filters at left of screen the following:
• El Clamor Publico Newspaper, 1855-1859
• Historic Postcards
• L.A. Comprehensive Bibliographic Database (searchable file of local history books & articles)
• L.A. Examiner Collection, 1920-1961
• L.A. Star Collection, 1851-1864
• USC Archives Image Collection
• WPA household census cards and employee records, L.A., 1939
• WPA Land use survey maps for the C
more...less...
Provides digital or bibliographic access to the following USC collections:
• El Clamor Publico Collection, 1855-1859,
• Festival de Flor y Canto, 1973: Films and Photographs,
• Gospel Music History Archive,
• Greene & Greene Digital Archive,
• Hancock Collection,
• Historic Postcards,
• International Mission Photography Archive, ca.1860-ca.1960,
• Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive,
• Korean American Digital Archive,
• Korean Digital Archive,
• Los Angeles Comprehensive Bibliographic Database,
• Los Angeles Examiner Collection, 1920-1961,
• Los Angeles Star Collection, 1851-1864,
• Library Exhibits Collection,
• Pacific Rim Archive,
• Rare Books and Manuscripts Collection
• Russian Satirical Journals Collection,
• Sea of Korea Map Collection,
• University of Southern California University Archives Image Collection,
• University of Southern California Faculty Research and Publications,
• University of Southern California dissertations and theses,
• Viterbi Family Archive,
• WPA household census cards and employee records, Los Angeles, 1939,
• WPA Land use survey maps for the City of Los Angeles, 1933-1939,
• "Dick" Whittington Photography Collection, 1924-1987.
Visual Collections, Los Angeles Public Library
Provides access to several databases
• California Index, finds articles in magazines and newspapers on local historical topics
• California Fiction Index, to finds stories and novels written about a city, neighborhood.
• Menu Collection, to view historic menus from L.A. restaurants back to the 1860s
• Photo Collection of Southern California
• L.A. City Directories from 1915 – 1986
• Turnabout Theatre, Hollywood, 1941- 1956
more...less...
From LAPL Website: "The LA Public Library visual collections include both local history collections and other historical collections."
VOAHA III: The Virtual Oral/Aural History Archive
This Site provides access to the full audio recordings of oral histories. You will hear the actual spoken words of oral history narrators. No transcriptions available. The CSULB oral history collections include topics ranging from women's social history and ethnic studies to Long Beach Area history and the Arts in Southern California. Some of the interviews in the Asian-American, Mexican-American and women's history collections date back to 1972 and include intervees born in the 1860s.

Citing Your Research

You have several options to help you format your research using proper citation styles.

Many of our databases have citation formatting options:

If you conduct a OneSearch book or article search, when you have the full record open look for citation OR " " link at top of record. It will format that record in several citation styles.
When you get some results from a research database, look for a CITE link. It might show your article in one of several bibliographic formats.
If you decide to e-mail the article, before you "send" it, look for CITATION / FORMAT option. You may be able to e-mail all your results in a particular style.

See our Style Manuals and Citation Methods Libguide.

Consider using one of these three CITATION MANAGERS These can be good options if you are going to write a major research paper, have multiple writing projects or are preparing something for for publication.