Skip to Main Content

Mathematics and Statistics: Find Books / Ebooks

A starting point for your research

Search the Library Catalog for Books (OneSearch)

Math Call Numbers

Call Numbers and Locations (REF at the beginning of a call number indicates it is located in the reference collection on the first floor)

Call Number	Topic Area	Book Location
QA1-939	Mathematics	4th Floor
QA1-43	General	4th Floor
QA47-59	Tables	4th Floor
QA71-90	Instruments and machines	4th Floor
QA75-76.95	Calculating machines	4th Floor
QA75.5-76.95	Electronic computers, Computer science	4th Floor
QA76.75-76.765	Computer software	4th Floor
QA101-145	Elementary mathematics, Arithmetic	4th Floor
QA150-272.5	Algebra	4th Floor
QA273-280	Probabilities, Mathematical statistics	4th Floor
QA299.6-433	Analysis	4th Floor
QA440-699	Geometry, Trigonometry, Topology	4th Floor
QA801-939	Analytic mechanics	4th Floor

Math Reference at CSULB

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Web Resources

CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematics
Handbook of mathematics and computational science
International conversion tables; weights, measures, gauges, currencies, conversion equivalents and factors, technical units, alphabets [and] other useful information
McGraw Hill Dictionary of Mathematics
Peterson's graduate programs in the physical sciences, mathematics, agricultural sciences, the environment & natural resources
The Prentice-Hall encyclopedia of mathematics
more...less...
Includes articles on various aspects of mathematics including tables of symbols, weights and measures, and logarithms; a biographical index; and cross referencing.

Books- Where and How?

Quick Links

eBooks

This is just a sampling of some of the eBook collections the Library subscribes to.

Skillsoft Also includes IT and Desktop Video collection. Full text of IT books on hundreds of different technology topics. Includes books from premier industry publishers, such as Wrox, McGraw-Hill, and Microsoft Press as well as popular book series, such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, and Bibles. Allows up to 6 simultaneous users.

eBook Collection

O'Reilly Learning Over 2000 e-books from O' Reilly, Que, Sams, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Peachpit Press covering computing, databases, operating systems, programming, XML, Java and web design, as well as a broad range of business topics. Covers: Current year plus two previous calendar years.
O’Reilly Sign in Instructions
Access the O’Reilly Learning site one of two ways:
1. Through the Database A-Z List
2. Through a OneSearch record for a specific title.
When prompted, sign-in through our authentication system using your BeachID and password.
After authenticating, you will be directed to the O’Reilly site where a pop-up box will appear. Select Institution not listed?, located below the drop-down menu.
The pop-up box will change to a new screen that prompts new users to enter their academic email and existing users to sign in.
New Users
Enter your CSULB email in the box that says Academic email to register for a new account. O’Reilly will grant you access to their site and will send a follow up email to complete the registration process.
Existing Users
Select the Already a user? option below the pop-up box to be directed to the sign in screen.
*Note:
Your O’Reilly account login details may not be the same as your Beach ID login/password. It depends on what you entered when originally creating the account. Try using the “Forgot Password” option if you already have an account, but are unable to sign in.

Search Google Books

A search of the full text of books, some available free on the web, others we may have here in the library.