Research Guides: Music: Find Articles / Databases

Get It @ CSULB

This button appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo).

Click the button to search CSULB's subscriptions for the full text of your article.

If you have any problems, please report them using the form linked below. Details about Get It @ CSULB, including on how to integrate it with other systems like citation managers, are available below.

Not Available at CSULB?

Is your article not available at CSULB?

Put in a request through CSU+ straight from OneSearch to get full-text of any article.

You can request an item directly if you can't find it in OneSearch.

Need more information? Visit Borrow From Another Library, our interlibrary services page.

Start with these

Music Index This link opens in a new window Contains data from over 800 international music periodicals from over 40 countries in 22 languages. It covers all styles and genres of music. Included are book reviews, obituaries, news and articles about music, musicians and the music industry. Coverage: 1976 - current. Note: 1949-1993 is available in print.
- This link opens in a new window
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window Books, journals, conference papers, dissertations, book chapters, bibliographies, catalogs, media materials, and all forms of scholarly communication related to music. Coverage: 1967 to present. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
medici.tv This link opens in a new window Features over 2,000 classical music programs including concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries and master classes. Also includes over 150 live broadcast events per year.
- This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window Music Online: Classical Scores Library, Volume I contains over 400,000 pages of downloadable music scores. Content comes mainly from the Renaissance through Romantic periods with some titles from contemporary composers. All major music genres are included.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Also Useful

ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Imprints, 1639-1819 This link opens in a new window This is comprised of three component databases: all can be searched simultaneously. American Broadsides & Ephemera, 1760-1900. Provides fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 30,000 broadsides & ephemera. Early American Imprints: Series I, 1639-1800. Is a full text facsimile collection consisting of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets & broadsides. Early American Imprints: Series II, 1801-1819 provides full-text facsimile access to 36,000 American books, pamphlets & broadsides.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English published from 1907 – 1984. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Useful for 20th century history & politics.
- This link opens in a new window

Additional Resources

Oxford Music Online (incorporating Grove Music Online) This link opens in a new window Includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Sources can be searched separately or simultaneously. Grove Music Online is the online version of the second edition of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians plus the New Grove Dictionary of Opera and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz--definitive sources of information on all aspects of music. Includes notated musical examples, images, and digital sound. Ongoing updates.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NAXOS Music Library This link opens in a new window Complete catalogs or selected recordings of over 940 record labels. Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Includes composer info and biographies, libretti, pronunciation guides, aural training guides and more. Naxos app available for mobile devices.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Naxos only allows 15 simultaneous users.
Art Song Transpositions This link opens in a new window Art songs and arias in any key. Edited and proofed by professional musicians, the collection also includes repertoire from musical theatre, choral works, and opera. Users can request new transpositions if not available.
- This link opens in a new window
IPA Source This link opens in a new window IPA Source (International Phonetic Alphabet) “was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. The goal of IPA Source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. IPA Source offers texts to works for the solo voice in Latin, Italian, German, French, Spanish, and English.”
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Publication Date: 1998

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Reference Look Up

Check out our citation linker to find other types of sources.

Citation Linker

Online Music Journals

Here are links to some of the online, full text music journals we have available in the Library for access by CSULB students, faculty and staff.