Religious Studies
Research strategies and databases for Religious Studies
Tracy Gilmore
Databases to Find Articles
-
Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
-
Acta Sanctorum Acta Sanctorum is a principal source for research into the societies and cultures of early Christian and medieval Europe. This collection includes text published over a period of 300 years by the Societe des Bollandistes.
-
ATLA Religion Database Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English, covering topics in the social sciences & humanities. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Coverage: 1949 to date.
-
Dissertations and Theses Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
-
Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective, 1900-1984 Identifies 250,000 articles in North American and British books, anthologies, and selected serials. Encompasses subjects like archaeology, art, history, music, psychology, and more. Funded by the CSULB Alumni Association.
-
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English published from 1907 – 1984. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Useful for 20th century history & politics.
-
JSTOR Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
-
Philosopher's Index Covers scholarly research in all areas of philosophy & monitors more than 1,500 journals from 100+ countries: updated quarterly. Research dates back to 1940. Content includes journals, books, book chapters & book reviews. It monitors more than 1,500 journals from 100+ countries.
-
Project MUSE Provides the full-text electronic versions of more than 200 scholarly journals. Updated monthly.
-
SocINDEX Full Text Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
Also Useful
-
America: History and Life Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
-
American Periodicals, 1740-1900 Contains full text facsimile access to over 1,100 popular & scholarly periodicals published between 1740 and 1900, including special interest & general magazines, literary & professional journals, children’s & women’s magazines, & many other historically-significant periodicals.
-
Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies Online Features two parts: 1) International Medieval Bibliography with 300,000+ citations of articles, chapters, and proceedings since 1967; 2) Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, indexing books and reviews since 1957. Focuses on European and Mediterranean history from 300-1500 AD.
-
Jacoby Online One of the most authoritative, encyclopedic resources for the study of fragmentary ancient Greek historians. Updated twice a year.
-
Historical Abstracts Indexes the last 60 years of “modern history” (historical scope, post 1450 to date) and covers over 2000 scholarly journals, books, and Ph.D. dissertations . Does not cover the U.S. and Canada (use America History & Life)
-
L'Année Philologique (Greek and Roman Antiquity) Includes 60 years of scholarship on Greco-Roman antiquity, covering history, religion, philosophy, archaeology, and literature. Spanning from the 2nd millennium BCE to the early Middle Ages.
-
PsycINFO Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
-
Sociological Abstracts Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences.Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
-
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Digital library of Greek literature, digitizing texts from Homer to Byzantium's fall in AD 1453. Aims to be a complete digital collection of Greek literature from antiquity to present.