SCED 404 The Nature of Science and Scientific Reasoning: Articles & Journals
Articles & Journals Hub
Your hub for finding featured databases to locate articles and journals to simplify your research.
Off-Campus Access
Off-campus database access
Only current CSULB students, faculty, and staff can connect by logging in when prompted through the library website.
Recommended Databases
- America: History and Life Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
- Historical Abstracts Indexes the last 60 years of “modern history” (historical scope, post 1450 to date) and covers over 2000 scholarly journals, books, and Ph.D. dissertations . Does not cover the U.S. and Canada (use America History & Life)
- Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- ERIC (via EBSCO) Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- Opposing Viewpoints A collection of viewpoints from various sources on social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, endangered species, to name a few. Includes relevant articles, encyclopedia entries and opinions for each topic covered.
- APA PsycINFO Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
For a complete list of Science Education Databases click here
Google Scholar
Google Scholar
Configure Google Scholar to link your account with the CSULB Library for access to full-text materials. Watch this video to learn how.
Search Google Scholar
Database Search Tips
Search Tips for
America: History and Life & Historical Abstracts
Start by entering your keywords in the search box. Use specific terms related to your topic to narrow your results.
Use filters to narrow your results by source type, subject, and language.
Find Journals
Find Journals
Locate specific journals by title or subject and evaluate their impact using citation data.
- Journal SearchLocate specific journals by title or subject
Use Cabells to find academic journals, publishing information, manuscript tools, and journal metrics.
- Cabells Journalytics and Predatory Reports Find academic journal information for publishing research with Cabells suite of tools for identifying over 11,000 academic journals, tools for identifying predatory journals, manuscript preparation tools, and a suite of metrics to help users find the right journals.
Locate highly ranked journals Use Journal Citation Reports to search a journal title or select another option to find journals ranked by impact factor
- Journal Citation Reports (InCites) Allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Citation data on journals in virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
Use Ulrichsweb for an easy-to-search source of detailed information on academic and scholarly journals
- Ulrichsweb (Ulrich's) Ulrich's™ provides comprehensive bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals, including type of periodical, frequency of publication, format, ISSN, subject and LC classifications and price information.
