Research Guides: SLP 696 Research Methods Applied &amp; Basic: Start Your Research

Search Strategies

Select & Use Keywords

Choose Specific Keywords: Use precise terms related to your topic such as: Multicultural Competence, Augmentative and Alternative Communication, Speech-Language Pathology

Combine Keywords: Use Boolean operators to refine searches, such as: (Multicultural competence AND Augmentative and Alternative Communication AND speech-language pathology)

Expand with Synonyms: Broaden your search by including related terms: ("multicultural competence" OR "cultural diversity" OR "intercultural communication") AND (AAC OR "Augmentative and Alternative Communication" OR "communication aids")

For more guidance, watch the video Selecting & Using Keywords to refine your search strategy.

Web of Science Tutorial

Web of Science Tutorial
Learn to navigate and use Web of Science

Web of Science Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.

ScienceDirect Tutorial

ScienceDirect Tutorial
Learn to navigate and use ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Configure Google Scholar to link your account with the CSULB Library for access to full-text materials. Watch this video to learn how.

Search Google Scholar

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus database access
Only current CSULB students, faculty, and staff can connect by logging in when prompted through the library website.

Databases

Explore Key Databases: Start with this curated selection of databases essential for your research.

PubMed@CSULB Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
APA PsycINFO Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
Web of Science Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
ScienceDirect Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ComDisDome ComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature including journal articles and books, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
Biological Abstracts An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
MEDLINE (via Web of Science) The National Library of Medicine’s international, biomedicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included.Coverage = 1951 - current.
PTSDpubs Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. and includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events 1871 - present. 
Cochrane Library A collection of 6 databases that provide reliable and up-to-date information about the effects of health care treatments (interventions) and prevention and 2 additional databases that describe the Cochrane Collaboration as an organization. Much of the information is presented in the form of systematic reviews (Cochrane reviews) for practitioners, patients and policy makers. Coverage: 1996 to present. Updated quarterly.
Dissertations and Theses Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.

Research Repositories

Find dissertations and theses from CSULB and beyond.

Dissertations and Theses Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.

EBSCO Open Dissertations Search thousands of open access dissertations
NDLTD (Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations) The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).
OATD (Open Access Theses and Dissertations) A free database of open-access graduate theses and dissertations from institutions worldwide.

ScholarWorks - CSU Institutional Repository

ScholarWorks: CSU Institutional Repository ScholarWorks is the California State University (CSU) institutional repository, providing open access to theses, dissertations, and faculty research from across CSU campuses. Students and faculty can use this resource to find previously published research, literature reviews, and theses related to their field, helping them identify key studies, refine research questions, and contextualize their own work within existing scholarship.

ACM Digital Library (ACM DL)

ACM Digital Library (ACM DL) The ACM Digital Library (ACM DL) is a comprehensive research database providing access to full-text articles, conference proceedings, technical magazines, and other scholarly content published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

Preprints.org – Open Access Preprint Repository

Preprints.org – Open Access Preprint Repository A multidisciplinary, open-access platform for sharing early versions of research papers before peer review. Provides access to the latest research across various disciplines, including science, technology, medicine, and social sciences..

Cited Reference Searching

Track research trends and find more resources by exploring cited references.

Web of Science

Use citation tools and 'Times Cited' to trace influential works and expand your research.

Web of Science Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.

Google Scholar Citation Linking

Find articles that cite your source using Google Scholar.

Get Help with Research!

As your subject librarian, I'm here to assist you with any questions or research needs you may have. Here are some resources and services available to you:

Contact Your Subject Librarian
Contact me with questions or to get help with your research!
Help with Research

Essential Resources for Graduate Research

CSULB Graduate Center The CSULB Graduate Center is a central resource for graduate students, offering academic support, professional development, and funding guidance. Services include thesis and dissertation support, grant and fellowship opportunities, career workshops, and research resources. Biology graduate students can find tools to enhance their research, navigate funding requirements, and prepare for academic or industry careers.
Scholarly Communication Guide This guide helps you navigate the scholarly publishing process, from preparing research for publication to understanding open-access options and copyright.

Find Journals

Locate specific journals by title or subject and evaluate their impact using citation data.

Journal Search
Locate specific journals by title or subject

Use Cabells to find academic journals, publishing information, manuscript tools, and journal metrics.

Cabells Journalytics and Predatory Reports Find academic journal information for publishing research with Cabells suite of tools for identifying over 11,000 academic journals, tools for identifying predatory journals, manuscript preparation tools, and a suite of metrics to help users find the right journals.

Locate highly ranked journals Use Journal Citation Reports to search a journal title or select another option to find journals ranked by impact factor

Journal Citation Reports (InCites) Allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Citation data on journals in virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

Use Ulrichsweb for an easy-to-search source of detailed information on academic and scholarly journals

Ulrichsweb (Ulrich's) Ulrich's™ provides comprehensive bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals, including type of periodical, frequency of publication, format, ISSN, subject and LC classifications and price information.

Your Librarian

Norah DeBellis

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Biology, Consumer Affairs, Food Science, Government Information, Natural Sciences, Nutrition & Dietetics, Ocean Studies Institute, Science Education, Speech-Language Pathology

SLP 696 Research Methods Applied & Basic: Start Your Research

Welcome

Search Strategies

Select & Use Keywords

Web of Science Tutorial

Web of Science Tutorial
Learn to navigate and use Web of Science

ScienceDirect Tutorial

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Configure Google Scholar to link your account with the CSULB Library for access to full-text materials. Watch this video to learn how.

Off-Campus Access

Databases

Research Repositories

Find dissertations and theses from CSULB and beyond.

ScholarWorks - CSU Institutional Repository

ACM Digital Library (ACM DL)

Preprints.org – Open Access Preprint Repository

Cited Reference Searching

Track research trends and find more resources by exploring cited references.

Web of Science

Google Scholar Citation Linking

Get Help with Research!

As your subject librarian, I'm here to assist you with any questions or research needs you may have. Here are some resources and services available to you:

Essential Resources for Graduate Research

Find Journals

Find Journals

Your Librarian

SLP 696 Research Methods Applied & Basic: Start Your Research

Welcome

Search Strategies

Select & Use Keywords

Web of Science Tutorial

Web of Science Tutorial Learn to navigate and use Web of Science

ScienceDirect Tutorial

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Configure Google Scholar to link your account with the CSULB Library for access to full-text materials. Watch this video to learn how.

Off-Campus Access

Databases

Research Repositories

Find dissertations and theses from CSULB and beyond.

ScholarWorks - CSU Institutional Repository

ACM Digital Library (ACM DL)

Preprints.org – Open Access Preprint Repository

Cited Reference Searching

Track research trends and find more resources by exploring cited references.

Web of Science

Google Scholar Citation Linking

Get Help with Research!

As your subject librarian, I'm here to assist you with any questions or research needs you may have. Here are some resources and services available to you:

Essential Resources for Graduate Research

Find Journals

Find Journals

Your Librarian

Web of Science Tutorial
Learn to navigate and use Web of Science

Google Scholar
Configure Google Scholar to link your account with the CSULB Library for access to full-text materials. Watch this video to learn how.