Skip to main content

Maps and Geographic Information Systems: Library Map Collection

Maps and GIS

Finding Maps in the Map Collection

The Map Collection, located in the Lower Level Library contains approximately 30,000 sheet maps with the majority of these being U.S. Government depository maps of the nation produced by the U.S. Geological Survey, National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration, the CIA, U.S. State Department, U.S. Forest Service, and other agencies.  Approximately 4000 maps have been cataloged in COAST and can be found through keyword, author, title, or subject searches. The remainder may be found through individual sheet indexes located at the beginning of each map set, or through using this geographic directory of call numbers of maps in the collection.

WAYS TO FIND PRINT MAPS

  • To find Print Maps, use this COAST LINK to limit your searches to this format. NOT ALL MAPS ARE CATALOGED.

  • Go to the more detailed MAP COLLECTION GUIDE and find a nation, state, city, or place. Go to that call number in the map collection and find maps of that area.

  • Use the brief MAP COLLECTION DIRECTORY to find maps by geographic area.

USGS TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS

You can use the USGS Map Locator to find topographic maps online, or identify the sheet names of quadrangles and then locate them in the map collection.

The Map Collection has USGS Topographic Quadrangles at 1:24,000 (7.5 Minute Series) the following Western U.S. states.

    • California 1:24,000. Filed by sheet (quadrangle) name under G4360s 24 (sheet name).  Find the name of your quadrangle by location at the links below:

    • Arizona 1:24,000. Filed under G4330s 24s (sheet name).  Find the name of your quadrangle by location at the link below:

    • Colorado 1:24,000. Filed under G4310s 24s (sheet name).  Find the name of your quadrangle by location at the link below:

    • Hawaii 1:24,000. Filed under G4380s 24s (sheet name).  Find the name of your quadrangle by location at the link below:

    • Oregon 1:24,000. Filed under G4290s 24 (sheet name).  Find the name of your quadrangle by location at the link below:

    • Nevada 1:24,000. Filed under G4350s 24 (sheet name).  Find the name of your quadrangle by location at the link below:

    • New Mexico 1:24,000. Filed under G4320s 24 (sheet name).  Find the name of your quadrangle by location at the link below

    • Utah 1:24,000. Filed under G4340s 24 (sheet name). Find the name of your quadrangle by location at the link below

    • Washington 1:24,000. Filed under G4280s 24 (sheet name). Find the name of your quadrangle by location at the link below:

    • Wyoming 1:24,000. Filed under G4260s 24 (sheet name). Find the name of your quadrangle by location at the link below:

The Map Collection also has Western U.S. States at scale of 1:62,500 (15 Minute Series).

Other USGS topographic scales of the United States are available.

NOAA NAUTICAL CHARTS

  • United States Nautical Charts of the Pacific Coast and Hawaii. Filed under G3701s P5 (Chart Number). Find the Chart Number of your chart at the link below:

WORLD TOPOGRAPHIC MAPS 

  • International Map of the World 1:100,000 produced by the Army Map Service, American Geographical Society and other nations in the 1940s thru 1970s is located under G3200s AGS 1:1,000,000 (Sheet Number). Find Sheet number at link below: