Maps and Geographic Information Systems: Historical Maps
Maps and GIS
Historic Aerial Imagery
- Historic AerialsProvides free samples of historic aerial photography of the L.A. area as far back as the 1930s and 40s for some locations. Historical comparisons can be made of the same area. Images can be purchased.
- Aerial Photomap Book, Los Angeles CountyAn atlas of large aerial photographs of the county taken in 1964. Located in Library Special Collections.
- Los Angeles County, California [remote-sensing images] / Pacific Air Industries.A set of 33 aerial images taken of the Long Beach area, ca 1953. Located in Library Special Collections
- Aerial Foto-book of Los Angeles County 1987-1988An atlas of aerial fotographs, 1987 of L.A. County.
- Aerial Atlas of Orange CountyAreial images of Orange County taken in 1974. Located in Library Special Collections.
- Orange County : Photo Map Book.A large atlas of detailed aerial images of the county taken in 1964. Located in Library Special Collections.
Historic Maps of Southern California
- California Historic Topographic Map CollectionCreated by CSU-Chico, it contains hundreds of scanned historic topo maps of California dating back to 1890.
- David Rumsey Map CollectionBeautifully scanned and presented historic maps, including over 1600 of California cities, counties and locales.
- Historical Quadrangles of CaliforniaOnline links to downloadable historic quadrangles for California.
- Historical Topographic Maps, USGSAccess thousands of scannded maps of the United States. California sheets expected to be on the server in Fall 2011.
- Historic Map and Chart Collection, NOAAProduced by the National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration, view the earliest nautical charts of the Southern California Coast, including San Pedro Bay.
- NOAA Historical Map and Chart CollectionSearch for and view historical charts of the U.S. Coasts going back to the 1700s.
- Old Maps OnlineA community sourced database that indexes and finds online over 400.000 maps worldwide from 1700 to the present. Map libraries and archives worldwide provided their online content.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online, Library of Congress project. The Library of Congress is endeavoring to color digitize public domain Sanborn Fire Insurance maps from across the country. Additions onging.
- SDAG Historical Topographic Maps of San Diego County25 viewable historic topographic maps of the San Diego area dating back to 1900.
- Southern California Historic Topographic Maps in CSULB Special CollectionsList of Historic USGS Topographic maps of Southern California in our Special Collections.
- Union List of Sanborn & Other Fire Insurance MapsUse this site to identify what libraries have historic, detailed downtown district maps. Maps used to identify ownership and purpose of structures for fire insurance. CSULB library has two microfilm reels of Los Angeles City 1888-1900 (Microfilm Reel Y4389) and Los Angeles Suburban, including Long Beach, 1885-1907 (Microfilm Reel Y3490)
- USGS Historical Topographic Map ExplorerU.S. Geological Survey and Esri, have partnered to put the rich tapestry of U.S. Historical Maps into the hands of everyone. Accessible on all digital devices, the USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer brings to life more than 178,000 maps dating from 1884 to 2006.
- WPA Maps of Southern California (AT BOTTOM OF LIST)Works Progress Administration Digital Archive provides 345 hand-colored maps from the 1933-39 land use survey of Los Angeles. Detailed and colorful maps of the built up L.A. region.