Skip to main content

eBooks: Home

Link to all CSULB Library's eBook collections.

Search the Library Catalog (COAST) for eBooks

eBooks are digital books, some of which you read on the Web, and some which are available for download to e-readers such as a Kindle.  Most of these collections are subscribed to by CSULB, so you will need a CSULB ID to use them.  Some are free to the public.

You can search the Library Catalog, COAST, specifically for eBooks, or go to specific collections from this page.

Search COAST
 

Free Books Online

Many of the free books online are public domain, including titles published before 1923 and U.S. government documents.

Critics' Choice Collection

Our Critics' Choice collection includes new, well reviewed, fiction and non-fiction titles.  Many are available in e-book format.  You can access them below through OneClickDigital and Overdrive.  (Critics' Choice books are located in the lobby of the library.)

Using OneClickDigital

If you want to read or listen to eBooks available through OneClickDigital on your personal device, you will need to use the OneClickDigital app.  You will need to register the first time only.

  1. Add the app to your device
  2. On a computer, go to OneClickDigital through the library's Database A to Z list
  3. At the top of the page click "register"
  4. Create a user name and password
  5. Open the app on your device
  6. Search for California State University Long Beach
  7. Sign in using your new user name and password
  8. At some point you will also need to enter your campus ID and library password

You are now ready to browse and download books!

Using OverDrive

If you want to read or listen to eBooks available through OverDrive on your personal device, you will need the OverDrive app.

Add the OverDrive app to your device

  1. Click Add a Library
  2. Search for California State University Long Beach
  3. Browse for titles
  4. When you check one out, it will ask you to login using your campus ID and library password

You are now ready to check out and download books!

Linking Library eBooks in BeachBoard

Faculty wanting to use eBooks in class:

Library ebooks are purchased by the library (and not available freely to the general public).  To provide CSULB students access to these titles, links to individual ebooks must be routed via the library's server.

To link to a library ebook yourself:

  1. Find the ebook in the Library Catalog
  2. Right-click on the "Available Online" link
  3. Choose "copy shortcut" or "copy link location"
  4. Paste the URL in Beachboard

Note: Be aware than many e-book titles have a "1 simultaneous user" restriction.

Contact your librarian for help.

DRM

Digital Rights Management (DRM) refers to rules eBook vendors put on a user's ability to save, print, or otherwise copy pages from their books.  DRM may also include a limit on the number of users who can access the book simultaneously.  Each eBook collection has different DRM rules, look to their help pages to find out.

eBooks on Reserve

The eBooks on Reserve program has been discontinued except for a few select titles requested by faculty.