Research Guides: Cookery & Culinary Arts: Find Books/Ebooks

Featured Books

Chocolate: history, culture, and heritage by Louis E. Grivetti
ISBN: 0470121653
Sanitation: Cleaning and Disinfection in the Food Industry by Mario Stanga
ISBN: 3527326855
The finest wines of Champagne: a guide to the best cuvées, houses, and growers by Michael Edwards
ISBN: 0520259408
Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients: Used in Food, Drugs and Cosmetics by Ikhlas A. Khan
ISBN: 047146743X
Nutrition for foodservice and culinary professionals by Karen Eich Drummond and Lisa M. Brefere
ISBN: 047159976X

Search the Library Catalog for Books (OneSearch)

Subject Call Numbers

The Call Number area for Cookery & Culinary Arts is:

They are located on the 4th floor of the library!

CSU+

Need a book or media item the Library doesn't have? Request it through CSU+

Books and media arrive at the CSULB Library within 2-4 business days.

How do you do it? Search for your book or media item in OneSearch. If we don't have it or it is checked out, click on the "Sign-in for more options" link, login with your "Beach ID" info and then make a request for it via the "CSU+" or "BeachReach" service. You will get an email when it has arrived!

Find out more on the Interlibrary Services page.

Books- Where and How?

Quick Links

eBooks

eBooks

Ebook Central (from ProQuest) This link opens in a new window More than 80,000 academic e-books in 16 subject categories (Formerly called eBrary)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Also includes IT and Desktop Video collection. Full text of IT books on hundreds of different technology topics. Includes books from premier industry publishers, such as Wrox, McGraw-Hill, and Microsoft Press as well as popular book series, such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, and Bibles. Allows up to 6 simultaneous users. Formerly called Books 24/7.
- This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection from EBSCO This link opens in a new window Full-text, searchable electronic books. Books can only be read online. However, mindful of copyright laws, texts may be printed out or copied in part using browser functions. Coverage: Most books are pre-2003. Also provides access to 3,500 older, "public domain" works that may be several hundred years old.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window Over 2000 e-books from O' Reilly, Que, Sams, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Peachpit Press covering computing, databases, operating systems, programming, XML, Java and web design, as well as a broad range of business topics. Covers: Current year plus two previous calendar years.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly Sign in Instructions

Access the O’Reilly Learning site one of two ways:

Through the Database A-Z List
Through a OneSearch record for a specific title.

When prompted, sign-in through our authentication system using your BeachID and password.

After authenticating, you will be directed to the O’Reilly site where a pop-up box will appear. Select Institution not listed?, located below the drop-down menu.

The pop-up box will change to a new screen that prompts new users to enter their academic email and existing users to sign in.

New Users
Enter your CSULB email in the box that says Your academic email to register for a new account. O’Reilly will grant you access to their site and will send a follow up email to complete the registration process.

Existing users
Select the Already a user? option below the pop-up box to be directed to the sign in screen.

***Note: your O’Reilly account login details may not be the same as your Beach ID login/password. It depends on what you entered when originally creating the account.*** Try using the “Forgot Password” option if you already have an account, but are unable to sign in.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window Is a digital collection of over 1,700 full text searchable e-books of recommended by humanities scholars.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window Digital library of Greek literature, digitizing texts from Homer to Byzantium's fall in AD 1453. Aims to be a complete digital collection of Greek literature from antiquity to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required*
Knovel (Engineering eBook Collection) This link opens in a new window Full-text access, including interactive tables and graphs to engineering handbooks in: aerospace and radar technology, biochemistry, biology and biotechnology, chemistry and chemical engineering, civil engineering and construction materials, environmental engineering, food science, general engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, regulatory information, safety and industrial hygiene and sustainable energy. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Libby (previously Overdrive) This link opens in a new window Popular ebooks and audiobooks that you can read and listen to through the Libby app on your personal device.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window