ENGL 482 Literature for Adolescents: Home
Find YA in the library
Use OneSearch, Advanced Search to search for YA books. In the first box type CSULB Children's Collection and in the second box search title, author, or keyword.
For Fiction: Limit your location to Children's Young Adult Fiction under location on the left side of the screen. All YA Fiction will have call numbers starting PZ7.5 and then the first four letters of the author's name.
For Nonfiction: YA non-fiction is located throughout the children's collection, find the general call number area for your topic, and head over there to pick out the best books for your age group.
Search for articles about YA literature using these databases:
- Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management as far back as the mid-1960s.
- ERIC (via EBSCO) Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Sign up for a 7 day free trial to use this database.
South Carolina Book Ban
Here are the 4 books banned by the SC State Board of Education today. No public school in SC can have these books because 1 person filed a complaint. The board arbitrarily applies regulation 43.170 in order to force State Superintendent Ellen Weaver 's Moms 4 Liberty agenda through the public education system.
