Research Guides: WGSS 301 Feminist Research Methods: Resource Hub

#Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases:

Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

WGSS Focused Databases:

Archives of Sexuality and Gender The full-text documents in the Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture include material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups since 1940. They present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch 40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present.GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Magazine Archive Complete issues of 27 key titles, chronicling the history and evolution of LGBT history and culture, including civil rights, health, lifestyle, politics, art and more from local, national and international writers, editors, thinkers, organizers and activists. From 1950s to 2015.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture Rare archival content, including letters, court documents, periodicals, speeches, interviews and ephemera from local, national and international organizations, as well as notable individuals from around the world, to trace the history of LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the late 19th century to the present day.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements Library Contains over 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of full-text documents that focus on U.S. women’s history from 1600-2000. Includes documents related to the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, Woman Suffrage Movement, Civil Rights Movement, and others. Includes Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000; Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present; Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820; and Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919 - 2019
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women’s Studies Archive Global archive of primary sources on the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives. Includes records from Planned Parenthood, the Malthusian League, the Women Pioneers and Women Missionaries collections, the Women’s Labor League and Trade Union League collections, and others.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

#Finding Books

ABOUT CALL NUMBERS: The primary Call Numbers for Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies (WGSS) are:

HQ 75 - 77 3rd floor HQ 1100 - 9999 3rd floor

These call numbers indicate that most books on this topic will be concentrated in these areas. However, the multi-disciplinary nature of WGSS means that material will be found in all areas of the collection not just in the locations listed above. Have a look around on the shelf and see if anything catches your eye!

Arnold T. Schwab Endowment Collection
by Alexis Pavenick Last Updated Dec 17, 2024 10 views this year

#CITATION RESOURCES

Chicago Manual of Style Resouces:

Author-Date Style Quick Guide
Quick Guide from The Chicago Manual of Style
Author-Date Documentation
From the University of Wisconsin Writing Center

All Citation Styles:

Style Manuals and Citation Methods
by Leslie Andersen Last Updated Feb 28, 2024 67 views this year

#ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

If your research topic includes work from additional disciplines, we encourage you to browse the LibGuides of those disciplines as well!

Primary vs. Secondary Sources:

Identifying Source Types:

Online WGSS Sources:

Lesbian Herstory Archives Digital Materials
The digital materials of the Lesbian Herstory Archives.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Links to digital collections of primary sources related to American Women's history