Skip to Main Content

American Indian Studies

Encyclopedias - Online

American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window The American Indian Experience contains over 150 full-text titles, primary documents and images documenting the American Indian experience. The database includes treaties, speeches, captivity narratives, maps, photographs, traditional tales and access to vetted Web sites.
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window More than 2 million entries from hundreds of cross-searchable Oxford encyclopedias and other reference books, many of which are illustrated.
Gale eBooks Reference Library This link opens in a new window A collection of about 900 encyclopedias and other reference books from several publishers across many disciplines that can be searched at one time.

Encyclopedias - Print

Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism : Sacred Ceremonies of North America by William S. Lyon
Call Number: 1st Floor Reference E98.M4 L98 1998
ISBN: 0874369339
Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume by Josephine Paterek
Call Number: 1st Floor Reference E98.C8 P37 1994
ISBN: 0874366852
The Encyclopedia of Native American Religions by Arlene Hirschfelder & Paulette Molin
Call Number: 1st Floor Reference E98.R3 H73 1992
ISBN: 0816020175
American Indians by Ed., Harvey Markowitz
Call Number: 1st Floor Reference E76.2 .A45 1995
ISBN: 0893567574
Also availble online.
Legend and lore of the Americas Before 1492 : An Encyclopedia of Visitors, Explorers, and Immigrants by Ronald H. Fritze
Call Number: 2nd Floor Stacks E61 .A72 1993
ISBN: 087436664X
The mythical West : an Encyclopedia of Legend, Lore, and Popular Culture by Richard W. Slatta
Call Number: 1st Floor Reference GR109 .S53 2001
ISBN: 1576071510
Also available online.
Native America in the Twentieth century : An Encyclopedia by Ed., Mary B. Davis
Call Number: 1st Floor Reference E76.2 .N36 1994
ISBN: 0824048466

Dictionaries - Print

Word dance: the language of Native American culture by Carl Waldman
Call Number: 2nd Floor Stacks E76.2 .W36 1994
ISBN: 0816028346