Primary Sources: What are they?
Primary sources are original documents, data or first hand accounts. A few examples of primary sources include first hand accounts such as personal narratives, letters, interviews, photographs, government statistics, music of the period, government forms, local or state propositions, legal cases, historical newspapers, etc.
Government Documents :: Books :: Magazines & Journals :: Newspaper Articles :: Propositions, Law & Legal Cases ::Online Digitized Archives
Online Archives
- Archives Library Information Center (ALIC) - Indians/Native AmericansOnline archives from the U.S. National Archives provides information on American Indians in U.S. history.
- Native Americans - National Archives and Records AdministrationAmong the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid 1990s.
Primary Source Databases
- Anthropological Fieldwork Online This link opens in a new window Primary source archival collections from North America, Europe, and Asia Pacific — including key field notebooks, images, and recordings of the early- to mid-20th century.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Ethnographic Sound Archives Online This link opens in a new window Historic audio recordings from around the world (particularly from the 1960s through the 1980s) and supporting field materials.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new window Contains 256 plays by 49 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- VOAHA III: Virtual Oral/Aural History Archive This link opens in a new window VOAHA enables you to access the full audio recordings of oral histories that have been deposited in Special Collections of the University Library. The CSULB oral history collections have been assembled from a number of sources and cover topics ranging from women's social history, labor and ethnic studies to Long Beach Area history and the musical developments in Southern California.
