Get It @ CSULB
This button appears in almost all of the Library's research databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete or PsycInfo).
Click the button to search CSULB's subscriptions for the full text of your article.
If you have any problems, please report them using the form linked below. Details about Get It @ CSULB, including on how to integrate it with other systems like citation managers, are available below.
Not Available at CSULB?
Is your article not available at CSULB?
Put in a request through CSU+ straight from OneSearch to get full-text of any article.
You can request an item directly if you can't find it in OneSearch.
Need more information? Visit Borrow From Another Library, our interlibrary services page.
Start with these
These are the major databases which index articles about Art in journals/magazines/newspapers.
- Art Index This link opens in a new window Art Index includes more than 600 English-language journals worldwide on all aspects of art and artists including advertising, photography, museum studies, archaeology, fashion, and design. Also indexes reproductions of art works and art dissertations. (Funded in part by a grant from the CSULB Alumni Association) Coverage: 1929 to date.
This link opens in a new window
- Art & Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window Art and Architecture Archive (AAA) is a major research resource comprising the digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century.
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window BHA and RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art) cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007
- Artstor This link opens in a new window Artstor is a nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window Images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century.
This link opens in a new window
- AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature This link opens in a new window AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 130,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. AATA now includes selected subject-specific bibliographies produced as part of the Getty Conservation Institute's own conservation and scientific research projects or as part of specific collaborative projects in which the Institute is involved.
- Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online This link opens in a new window A project of the J. Paul Getty Trust to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture, and material culture. The AAT contains generic terms; it contains no proper names.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also Useful
These databases include some art publications and art-related articles.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English published from 1907 – 1984. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Useful for 20th century history & politics.
- This link opens in a new window
- ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Alt-PressWatch, 1965-present This link opens in a new window Articles from independent or alternative newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters that are not mainstream media viewpoints or perspectives. Some coverage back to 1965.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present This link opens in a new window Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Additional Resources
In addition to the resources listed below, use the various ethnic studies pages (i.e., Africana Studies) for research on art of different cultures.
- Oxford Art Online (incorporating Grove Art Online) This link opens in a new window Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Sources can be searched separately or simultaneously. Grove Art Online is the most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present. Timelines of World Art and over 5000 images are also included. Ongoing updates.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window The Berg Fashion Library is a online portal that incorporates a full range of resources from a broad range of disciplinary bases – anthropology and material culture, art history, theatre studies, history, sociology, cultural studies, human geography, folklore, and fashion studies.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the databases below for commercial art topics
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive business database with over 3,200 journals covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It consists of: ABI Global, ABI Archive, ABI Images, ABI Trade and Industry, Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American, and EIU. Coverage: 1971 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat
To search for MORE books/media/journals than offered in OneSearch, use the WorldCat database.
Keep in mind that any items found here will have to be order through BeachReach.