Research Guides: Art/Art History: Find Books / Ebooks

Featured Books

Here's a few new books recently added to the Art collection. Check 'em out!

Museums and Wealth: The Politics of Contemporary Art Collections by Nizan Shaked
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781350045774
Publication Date: 2022
In and Out of View: Art and the Dynamics of Circulation, Suppression, and Censorship by Catha Paquette (Editor); Karen Kleinfelder (Editor); Christopher Miles (Editor)
Call Number: N8740 .I5 2022
ISBN: 1501358715
Publication Date: 2021
Medieval Art in Motion: The Inventory and Gift Giving of Queen Clémence de Hongrie by Mariah Proctor-Tiffany
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 0271083034
Publication Date: 2018
Robert Irwin by Matthew Thomas Simms Faculty publication
Call Number: N6537.I64 S56 2016
ISBN: 9780300173833
Publication Date: 2016
American Arcadia by Peter J. Holliday Faculty publication
Call Number: F861 .H693 2016
ISBN: 9780190256517
Publication Date: 2016

Search the Library Catalog for Books (OneSearch)

Books and Media on Art

Here is a sampling of subject headings which may be used to search the library catalog. For a more complete list of headings relevant to Art/Art History, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings volumes located in the Reference section on the 1st floor of the Library. Click on any of the following subjects now to retrieve records from the catalog.

Subject Call Numbers

Most of the books on Art are located in the N call number. Here are a few specific subjects:

AM --- Museum techniques
N --- Fine arts
N 5300-7429 --- Art History
NA --- Architecture
NB --- Sculpture
NC --- Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND --- Painting
NE --- Print media
NK --- Decorative arts
NX --- Arts in general
TR --- Photography
TT --- Handicrafts, Arts and Crafts

Most of these are located on the 3rd floor of the Library with the exception of books on photography ("T" call numbers) which are on the 4th floor and museum studies ("AM" call number) which is on the 2nd floor.

Books- Where and How?

Quick Links

eBooks

eBooks

Ebook Central (from ProQuest) This link opens in a new window More than 80,000 academic e-books in 16 subject categories (Formerly called eBrary)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Skillsoft This link opens in a new window Also includes IT and Desktop Video collection. Full text of IT books on hundreds of different technology topics. Includes books from premier industry publishers, such as Wrox, McGraw-Hill, and Microsoft Press as well as popular book series, such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, and Bibles. Allows up to 6 simultaneous users. Formerly called Books 24/7.
- This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection from EBSCO This link opens in a new window Full-text, searchable electronic books. Books can only be read online. However, mindful of copyright laws, texts may be printed out or copied in part using browser functions. Coverage: Most books are pre-2003. Also provides access to 3,500 older, "public domain" works that may be several hundred years old.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Learning This link opens in a new window Over 2000 e-books from O' Reilly, Que, Sams, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Peachpit Press covering computing, databases, operating systems, programming, XML, Java and web design, as well as a broad range of business topics. Covers: Current year plus two previous calendar years.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly Sign in Instructions

Access the O’Reilly Learning site one of two ways:

Through the Database A-Z List
Through a OneSearch record for a specific title.

When prompted, sign-in through our authentication system using your BeachID and password.

After authenticating, you will be directed to the O’Reilly site where a pop-up box will appear. Select Institution not listed?, located below the drop-down menu.

The pop-up box will change to a new screen that prompts new users to enter their academic email and existing users to sign in.

New Users
Enter your CSULB email in the box that says Your academic email to register for a new account. O’Reilly will grant you access to their site and will send a follow up email to complete the registration process.

Existing users
Select the Already a user? option below the pop-up box to be directed to the sign in screen.

***Note: your O’Reilly account login details may not be the same as your Beach ID login/password. It depends on what you entered when originally creating the account.*** Try using the “Forgot Password” option if you already have an account, but are unable to sign in.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window Is a digital collection of over 1,700 full text searchable e-books of recommended by humanities scholars.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window Digital library of Greek literature, digitizing texts from Homer to Byzantium's fall in AD 1453. Aims to be a complete digital collection of Greek literature from antiquity to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required*
Knovel (Engineering eBook Collection) This link opens in a new window Full-text access, including interactive tables and graphs to engineering handbooks in: aerospace and radar technology, biochemistry, biology and biotechnology, chemistry and chemical engineering, civil engineering and construction materials, environmental engineering, food science, general engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, regulatory information, safety and industrial hygiene and sustainable energy. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Libby (previously Overdrive) This link opens in a new window Popular ebooks and audiobooks that you can read and listen to through the Libby app on your personal device.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window