Free Databases (all subjects): Biology
A listing of databases free on the web for anyone. All of the databases listed below were selected by CSULB subject librarians. All are accessible free on the web, no CSULB login required.
Biology
-
BioMed CentralFree access to the highly rated journals published by BioMed Central.
-
California Natural Diversity DatabaseA program that inventories the status and locations of rare plants and animals in California.
-
Charles Darwin's LibraryDigital copies of Darwin's library including his handwritten notes.
-
Darwin Correspondence Project"On this site you can read and search the full texts of more than 7,500 of Charles Darwin’s letters...
-
ION - Index of Organism NamesION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Thomson Reuters databases such as BIOSIS Previews®.
-
PLoSThe Public Library of Science provides free access to the full-text of all of their highly rated journals.
-
Science DailyFeatures major headlines and news stories for all scientific disciplines, including laboratory science, environmental science, health science, and computer science. The site features easy sorting options, is updated continuously, and provides thorough source information for all stories.
-
Science WatchScienceWatch.com (updated weekly) provides a behind-the-scenes look at the scientists, journals, institutions, nations, and papers selected by Essential Science IndicatorsSM from Thomson Reuters and other products of the Research Services Group.
-
bioRxiv A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. bioRxiv is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research institution. Articles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online. However, all articles undergo a basic screening process for offensive and/or non-scientific content and are checked for plagiarism.
Botany
-
AgricolaContains citations and abstracts to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Covers 1970-present.
Zoology
-
African Elephant LibraryThe AEL includes references on the biology, ecology and management of the African elephant.
-
Classic Illustrated Nature Collections (NYPL)From New York Public Library, digital images.
-
ION - Index of Organism NamesION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Thomson Reuters' Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Thomson Reuters databases such as BIOSIS Previews®.
-
SORA - Searchable Ornithological Research Archive SORA is an open access electronic journal archive that provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
-
Global Raptor Information NetworkProvides information on diurnal raptors (hawks, eagles, and falcons).