Citing Guide for Business (APA 7th ed.): Citation Examples

NOTE: There are no authors or editors listed for the Mergent Online database. If a source has no author, begin with the title, and follow it with the date in parentheses.

Citing a company profile

• Company name. [Company profile]. (Date published). Database name. Retrieval date, from URL of database home page

Nike, Inc. [Company profile]. (n.d.). Mergent Online. Retrieved June 3, 2020, from https://mergentonline.com/

Citing a specific section of a company profile

• Company name. [Section title]. (Date published). Database name. Retrieval date, from URL of database home page

Nike, Inc. [Competitors]. (n.d.). Mergent Online. Retrieved June 3, 2020, from https://mergentonline.com/

NOTE: Most reports have a unique identifier number, so use it in parentheses after the title. In this case, also include a more specific description in the brackets than just [Industry report] as is often used elsewhere, because IBIS has risk and other reports as well as global, state, and other levels of industry reports, and sometimes the titles and numbers are the same.

Citing an industry report

• Author. (Year published, Month published). Report title. (Report number) [Report type]. Database name. Retrieval date, from URL of database home page

Ristoff, J. (2023, June). Fast food restaurants in the U.S. (US 72221A) [U.S. specialized industry report]. IBISWorld. Retrieved June 23, 2023, from https://www.ibisworld.com/

Citing a report

• Group author. (Year published, Month published). Report title. Database name. URL of database home page

Freedonia Focus Report. (2024, June). Commercial refrigeration equipment: United States. MarketResearch.com Academic. https://www.marketresearch.com/

Packaged Facts. (2024, June). Beverage market outlook 2024: opportunities & challenges with pricing, better-for-you options, & more. MarketResearch.com Academic. https://www.marketresearch.com/

NOTE: Look at the bottom of the company’s stock page for the dates of the PDF reports -- usually approximately quarterly. Those are the archived reports and should be the preferred date.

Citing a report

• Company name. [Company profile]. (Date published). Database name. Retrieval date, from URL of database home page

Delta Air Lines. (2024, May 22). Value Line Investment Survey. Retrieved May 27, 2024, from https://valueline.com/

NOTE: Look at the bottom of the vertical menu on the left side each report for a button that says "Cite this Document" for the APA 7th edition citation.

Citing a report

• World Trade Press. (Year published, Month published). Report title. Retrieval date, from URL for report

World Trade Press. (2024, July). Russia: Country snapshot. Global Road Warrior. Retrieved July 23, 2024, from https://www-globalroadwarrior-com.csulb.idm.oclc.org/russia/country-overview.html

NOTE: Look at the bottom of the vertical menu on the left side each report for a button that says "Cite this Document" for the APA 7th edition citation.

Citing a county review

• Report title. (Year published). Database name. Retrieval date, from URL for report

Nigeria: Country review. (2024). Country Watch. Retrieved July 8, 2024, from https://countrywatch.com/

Citing a country review

• Fitch Solutions Group Limited. (Date published). Report title [Report type] Database name. Retrieval date, from URL for database home page

Fitch Solutions Group Limited. (n.d.). Mexico agribusiness report Q1 2020 [Industry profile]. FitchConnect. https://www.fitchsolutions.com/fitch-connect