Classics

In our Library, the main call number ranges for Classics are:

DE = Greco-Roman world.  2nd floor.

PA = Classical languages and literatures.  3rd floor.

 

Other potential areas:

BL = Religion and Mythology.  2nd floor.

BL 700-820 = Classical (Etruscan, Roman, Greek) mythology.  2nd floor.

PN = General literary topics, e.g., drama but not drama of a specific linguistic/national tradition.  3rd floor. 

PA - Classical Philology

PA111–199 Greek & Latin Language
PA201–1179 Greek Philology & Language
PA600–691 Hellenistic (κοινή) Greek
PA700–791 Biblical Greek
PA1001–1179 Medieval & Modern Greek
PA2001–2995 Latin Philology & Language
PA3000–3049 Classical Literature (In General)
PA3050–5868 Greek Literature
PA3300–3371 Papyri
PA6000– Latin Literature
PA3050–5868 Greek Literature
PA3300–3371 Papyri
PA6000– Latin Literature

D - History

• D51-90 Ancient History (General)
  • DA145–147 Roman Britain
  • DC62–63 Roman Gaul

• DE The Greco-Roman World
  • DE1–15 General
  • DE27–31 Geography
  • DE46–73 Culture and Civilization
  • DE80–98 History
  •  
• DF1-500 Ancient Greece (to c. 323 A.D.)
  • DF10–16 General
    • DF10 Periodicals
    • DF12 Sources & Documents
  • DF75–135 Civilization & Culture
  • DF207–241 History
    • DF207–218 General
    • DF220–241 By Period
    • DF251–289 Local History
    •  
• DG1–399 Ancient Italy, Rome to 476 A.D.
  • DG11–16 General
  • • DG11 Periodicals
    • DG13 Sourcebooks
  • DG42–70 Local and Regional History
    • DG61–69 City of Rome
  • DG75–190 Civilization & Culture
  • DG201–365 History
  • • DG221–365 History by Period

• DS54.3 Ancient Cyprus
• DS71–75 Ancient Iraq to 638 A.D.
• DS81 Phoenicia
• DS96 Ancient Syria, including the Seleucids
• DS111–123 Ancient Israel
• DS275–287 Iran to 651 AD
•  
• DT57–93 Ancient Egypt, including the Ptolemies (DT92)

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Antiquity ~ 1st Floor Reference, DE5 .N4813 2002

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World: Classical Tradition ~ 1st Floor Reference, DE5 .N3513 2006  

Brill's New Pauly. Supplements ~ 1st Floor Reference, DE5 .N48133 2007

The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium ~ 2nd Floor Stacks, DF521 .O93 1991

Benet's Readers Encyclopedia ~ 3rd Floor Stacks, PN41 .B4 1987

Cassell's Encyclopaedia of World Literature ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN41 .C3 1973

A Dictionary of Literary Terms & Literary Theory ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN41 .C83 1998  

The York Companion to Themes and Motifs of World Literature: Mythology, History, Folklore ~ 3rd Floor Stacks, PN43 .E445

Handbook to Literature ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN41 .H355 2006

Oxford Classical Dictionary ~ 1st Floor Reference, DE5 .O9 2012

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization ~ Oxford Reference Online Database (CSULB Databases > O > Oxford...)

The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN1021 .N39 1993

The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, 4th Edition ~ eBook Central (ProQuest) (CSULB Databases > E > eBook...)

Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN43 .D48 1998

Cyclopedia of Literary Characters ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN44 .M3 1998

---

Literary Criticism Index ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN 523 .W425 1994
Drama Criticism ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN1707 .C6
European Drama Criticism ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN1721 .P2 1977 [Note: Includes the UK; excludes Shakespeare]
Epic and Romance Criticism: A Checklist of Interpretations, 1940-1972 ~ ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN1303 .C74
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN610 .C53
Drama Criticism ~ 1st Floor Reference, PN1625 .D72

B - Philosophy, Psychology & Religion

B108–708 Ancient Philosophy
BL700–820 Classical Religion and Mythology
BR160–240 Early History of Christianity

CE / CJ / CN - Chronology & Calendars, Numismatics, Inscriptions/Epigraphy

CE21–46 Ancient Chronography
CE42–46 Greek & Roman Calendars
CJ201–1400 Ancient Numismatics
CN1–1100 Ancient Epigraphy

G - Geography, Anthropology, Recreation

G82–88 Ancient Geography
G1033 Atlases of the Ancient World
GT530–580 Ancient dress and costume
GV17–35, 573 Ancient Sports and Games

H - Social Sciences

HC31–39 Ancient Economic History
HD132–137 Ancient Economic History (Land)
HD4844 Labor in the Ancient World
HF355–381 History of Ancient Trade and Commerce
HN9–10 Ancient Social History
HQ13 Ancient Sexuality
HQ505–12 The Family in Antiquity
HQ1127–1139 Women in the Ancient World
HT863 Ancient Slavery

JC - Political Theory

JC51–93 Ancient Political Institutions & Theory

K - Law

KJA2-3660 Roman Law
KL4110-4399 Greek Law

M - Music

ML162-169 Ancient Music

N- Fine Arts

N5320-5899 Fine Arts in Antiquity
NA210–340 Ancient Architecture
NA69–169 Ancient Sculpture
ND60–135 Ancient Painting
NK610–685 Ancient Decorative Arts
NK1180–1250 Ancient Decoration and Ornament
NK4645–4654 Greek & Roman Vases

P - Language and Literature

PA - Greek and Latin Language and Literature

R - Medicine

R126–127 Ancient Medical Works
R135 History of Ancient Medicine

T- Technology

T16 Ancient Technology

U - Military Science

U29–35 Warfare in Antiquity

Z105–115 Paleography, Z7016–7030 Bibliography of Classical Languages and Literature