Computer Engineering & Computer Science: Find Books / Ebooks
This guide supports the Computer Engineering and Computer Science Department (CECS)
LC Subject Headings and Call Numbers
Computer Engineering and Computer Science are the major subject headings but too broad for most purposes. Below are examples of some subject headings:
- Artificial intelligence
- Computer algorithms
- Computer architecture
- Computer graphics
- Computer input-output equipment (for computer hardware)
- Human-computer interaction
- User interfaces (computer systems)
- Logic circuits
- Electronic digital computers - circuits
- Computer networks
- Computer programming
- Computer programs
- Computer software
- Data encryption (computer science)
- Data protection
- Data structures (computer science)
- Electronic data processing
- Programming languages (also specific names of languages such as C++, Java, XML)
- Software engineering
Here are some Library of Congress call numbers for computer engineering and computer science:
- QA 75.5 – 76.95. Electronic computers. Computer science
- QA 76.75-76.765 Computer software
- T58.5 - T58.64 Information Technology
- TA 157 Computer engineers
- TK 5100 Computer networks
- TK 7800 – 8360 Electronics
- TK 7885 – 7895 Computer engineering. Computer hardware
- Z 102.5 – 104 Cryptography
- ZA 3201 – 3250 Information superhighway
- ZA 4201 – 4251 Internet
They are located on the 4th floor of the library!
Search the Library Catalog for Books (OneSearch)
Books- Where and How?
eBooks
eBooks
-
Ebook Central (from ProQuest) More than 80,000 academic e-books in 16 subject categories (Formerly called eBrary)
-
eBook Collection from EBSCO Full-text, searchable electronic books. Books can only be read online. However, mindful of copyright laws, texts may be printed out or copied in part using browser functions.Coverage: Most books are pre-2003. Also provides access to 3,500 older, "public domain" works that may be several hundred years old.
-
O'Reilly Learning Over 2000 e-books from O' Reilly, Que, Sams, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Peachpit Press covering computing, databases, operating systems, programming, XML, Java and web design, as well as a broad range of business topics. Covers: Current year plus two previous calendar years.
-
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project Is a digital collection of over 1,700 full text searchable e-books of recommended by humanities scholars.
-
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Digital library of Greek literature, digitizing texts from Homer to Byzantium's fall in AD 1453. Aims to be a complete digital collection of Greek literature from antiquity to present.
-
Knovel (Engineering eBook Collection) Full-text access, including interactive tables and graphs to engineering handbooks in: aerospace and radar technology, biochemistry, biology and biotechnology, chemistry and chemical engineering, civil engineering and construction materials, environmental engineering, food science, general engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, regulatory information, safety and industrial hygiene and sustainable energy.
-
Libby (previously Overdrive) Popular ebooks and audiobooks that you can read and listen to through the Libby app on your personal device.
