Research Guides: CHLS Immigration Research: Find Articles & Newspapers

Where can I find primary journal articles?

A few examples of primary material in journals include earliest accounts of an event, first hand accounts, interviews, personal narratives, letters, articles written by historical figures or activists, texts of speeches or transcripts of events.

Jr of San Diego History

Border and Migration Studies Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides historical background on more than thirty border areas in the world. Collection of text, media, primary sources you can search or use themes such as border disputes, crossings, human trafficking, migration, etc.
Chicano Database
- This link opens in a new window
Over 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. All subject areas, includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication. 1965 to present.
Ethnic Diversity Source
- This link opens in a new window
Contains resources covering culture, traditions, and the social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English published from 1907 – 1984. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Useful for 20th century history & politics.
- This link opens in a new window
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources covering 20th-century human migration, including firsthand accounts of post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States, the first Gulf War and more. Sources include radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, and government documents gathered daily by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. It covers issues such as xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, and the treatment of refugees.
Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 Readers' Guide Retrospective contains comprehensive indexing of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States published 1890-1982.
- This link opens in a new window

Where can I find primary newpaper articles?

A few examples of primary material in newspapers include earliest accounts of an event, first hand accounts, interviews, personal narratives, letters, articles written by historical figures or activists, texts of speeches or transcripts of events.

Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Times Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical New York Times Full text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Where can I find primary magazines articles?

A few examples of primary material in magazines include earliest accounts of an event, first hand accounts, interviews, personal narratives, letters, articles written by historical figures or activists, texts of speeches or transcripts of events.

Yoke Magazine cover

Nuestro magazine 1985

Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 Readers' Guide Retrospective contains comprehensive indexing of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States published 1890-1982.
- This link opens in a new window
Chicano Database Over 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. All subject areas, includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication. 1965 to present.
- This link opens in a new window