Research Guides: CHLS Immigration Research: Find Digitized and Audio Online Collections

National Archives

The Archival Research Catalog (ARC) is the online catalog of the National Archives' nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives, and Presidential Libraries. Some documents are digitized and freely available.

Other sites of interest

The sites listed below all have digitized or audio primary source information on Asian Americans and Latinos after WWII.

Calisphere
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
South Asian American Digital Archive
The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) was founded in 2008 in order to document and provide access to the diverse and relatively unknown stories of South Asian Americans.
USC Digital Library
The USC Digital Library helps to fulfill the mission of the USC Libraries to select, collect, preserve and make accessible high quality digital images of unique materials with metadata to support research, and provides a “gateway” to resources on Los Angeles and Southern California.
YouTube
This popular website may have some useful historical audio and film history.

Audio

The Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American Recordings
An audio archive of Mexican and Mexican American music.