Research Guides: Linguistics: Find Books / Ebooks

Search the Library Catalog for Books (OneSearch)

Using the KEYWORD search, type in, for example:	Using the SUBJECT search, type in, for example:
"code switching" English and "second language" English and "second language" and (writing or composition) Spanish and verb* and language* deaf and (language* or linguistic* or communicat*)	Linguistics Code Switching (Linguistics) Indians of North America--Languages Second language acquisition Bilingualism Discourse analysis Sapir Whorf Hypothesis Semiotics Phonetic transcriptions Vietnamese language

Subject Call Numbers

The Call Numbers for the following subjects are:

P 1 - 1091 Linguistics, and general language topics

PA 1 - 8595 Greek and Latin language and literatures

PB 1 - 3029 Celtic languages

PC 1 - 5498 Romance languages

PD 1 - 7159 Germanic & Scandinavian languages

PE 1 - 3729 English languages

PF 1 - 5999 West Germanic languages

PG 1 - 9665 Slavic, Baltic, and Albanian languages and literatures

PH 1 - 5490 Finno-Ugric and Basque languages and literatures

PJ 1 - 9500 Semitic languages and literatures

PK 1 - 9601 Indo-Iranian languages and literatures

PL 1 - 8844 East Asian, African, and Oceanic languages and literatures

PM 1-9021 Hyperborean and North and South American Indian languages and literatures; Artificial languages

They are located on the 3rd floor of the library!

Books- Where and How?

Quick Links

eBooks

eBooks

Ebook Central (from ProQuest) More than 80,000 academic e-books in 16 subject categories (Formerly called eBrary)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Skillsoft Also includes IT and Desktop Video collection. Full text of IT books on hundreds of different technology topics. Includes books from premier industry publishers, such as Wrox, McGraw-Hill, and Microsoft Press as well as popular book series, such as The Complete Reference, Inside Out, and Bibles. Allows up to 6 simultaneous users. Formerly called Books 24/7.
- This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection from EBSCO Full-text, searchable electronic books. Books can only be read online. However, mindful of copyright laws, texts may be printed out or copied in part using browser functions.Coverage: Most books are pre-2003. Also provides access to 3,500 older, "public domain" works that may be several hundred years old.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Learning Over 2000 e-books from O' Reilly, Que, Sams, Addison-Wesley, Prentice Hall and Peachpit Press covering computing, databases, operating systems, programming, XML, Java and web design, as well as a broad range of business topics. Covers: Current year plus two previous calendar years.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly Sign in Instructions

Access the O’Reilly Learning site one of two ways:

Through the Database A-Z List
Through a OneSearch record for a specific title.

When prompted, sign-in through our authentication system using your BeachID and password.

After authenticating, you will be directed to the O’Reilly site where a pop-up box will appear. Select Institution not listed?, located below the drop-down menu.

The pop-up box will change to a new screen that prompts new users to enter their academic email and existing users to sign in.

New Users
Enter your CSULB email in the box that says Your academic email to register for a new account. O’Reilly will grant you access to their site and will send a follow up email to complete the registration process.

Existing users
Select the Already a user? option below the pop-up box to be directed to the sign in screen.

***Note: your O’Reilly account login details may not be the same as your Beach ID login/password. It depends on what you entered when originally creating the account.*** Try using the “Forgot Password” option if you already have an account, but are unable to sign in.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project Is a digital collection of over 1,700 full text searchable e-books of recommended by humanities scholars.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Digital library of Greek literature, digitizing texts from Homer to Byzantium's fall in AD 1453. Aims to be a complete digital collection of Greek literature from antiquity to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*Individual registration required*
Knovel (Engineering eBook Collection) Full-text access, including interactive tables and graphs to engineering handbooks in: aerospace and radar technology, biochemistry, biology and biotechnology, chemistry and chemical engineering, civil engineering and construction materials, environmental engineering, food science, general engineering, mechanics and mechanical engineering, regulatory information, safety and industrial hygiene and sustainable energy. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Libby (previously Overdrive) Popular ebooks and audiobooks that you can read and listen to through the Libby app on your personal device.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window