Research Guides: NUTR Nutrition &amp; Dietetics Subject Guide: Start Your Research

Fresh Reads!

Nutrition & Dietetics Research & News

Explore these resources for research topics, background information, and current trends in Nutrition & Dietetics.

Journals

Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior

Federally Qualified Health Center-Based Food is Medicine Intervention Associated With Improved Health and Nutritional OutcomesThis link opens in a new window To evaluate health outcomes associated with a Food is Medicine (FIM) intervention. Mar 14, 2025

Website | Feed

Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

Effectiveness of Medical Nutrition Therapy Provided by Dietitians on Nutrition and Health Outcomes in Adults with Protein-Energy Malnutrition: A Systematic Review and Meta-AnalysisThis link opens in a new window Malnutrition is associated with increased morbidities and mortality. Objective: The aim of this systematic review and meta-analysis was to evaluate the effect of medical nutrition therapy (MNT) provided by a dietitian, compared to no MNT on nutrition status and health outcomes (mortality, length of stay (LOS), readmissions, quality of life (QoL), weight, physical function, and cost-effectiveness) in adults with protein-energy malnutrition (PEM). Mar 13, 2025

Website | Feed

Public Health Nutrition

RSS Feed Error The requested feed could not be loaded. (Sun, 16 Mar 2025 22:38:05 -0500)

Feed

Clinical Nutrition ESPEN

Low-carbohydrate diet in type 1 diabetes: a systematic reviewThis link opens in a new window the treatment of type 1 diabetes mellitus (T1D) consists of applying insulins with different action profiles and ingesting known amounts of nutrients from the diet. Although there is no specific recommendation regarding the distribution of these macronutrients, low-carbohydrate (LC) diets seem to show promise in some types of diabetes, but their role in T1D is still controversial, given the potential glycemic improvement, but with the concurrent possibility of changes in other parameters such as lipids. Mar 14, 2025

Website | Feed

USDA Feeds

Policy Memos - Child Nutrition Programs

Buy American Accommodation Process for School Year 2025-26This link opens in a new window This memorandum provides guidance on the Buy American accommodation process. This memorandum provides the state agency the ability to approve temporary relief for school food authorities that demonstrate they cannot meet the thresholds for non-domestic food purchases for school year 2025-26. Feb 20, 2025

Website | Feed

Policy Memos - Food Distribution Programs

Commodity Supplemental Food Program - Income Guidelines for 2025This link opens in a new window This memorandum transmits the 2025 income guidelines for state agencies and tribes in determining the eligibility of individuals applying to participate in CSFP. Mar 7, 2025

Website | Feed

Policy Memos - Farmers' Market Nutrition Program

WIC FMNP and SFMNP FY 2022 Guidance PackageThis link opens in a new window This guidance provides resources that state agencies may use when considering next steps and set forth instructions for submitting state plan amendments that involve operational changes such as electronic solution proposals and/or WIC FMNP waiver requests. Apr 11, 2024

Website | Feed

Lifecycle Nutrition Information

USDA Life Stage Nutrition The USDA's Life Stage Nutrition resource provides tailored nutrition guidance for all life stages, from pregnancy to older adulthood. It offers evidence-based recommendations, dietary guidelines, and tools to support healthy eating at every stage of life.
ACOG Good Health Before Pregnancy: Pregnancy Care The ACOG Prepregnancy Care guide provides essential health recommendations for women planning a pregnancy. It covers key topics like nutrition, lifestyle, medical conditions, vaccinations, and prenatal vitamins to help optimize health before conception.

USDA Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)

USDA Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) from the USDA provides reliable nutrition resources for professionals, educators, and the public. It offers research-based dietary guidelines, food safety information, and tools on topics like life stage nutrition, dietary supplements, and meal planning.

ScienceDaily Nutrition Research News Feed

Mother's high-fat diet can cause liver stress in fetusThis link opens in a new window When mothers eat a diet high in fat and sugars, their unborn babies can develop liver stress that continues into early life. A new study sheds light on changes to the fetus's bile acid, which affects how liver disease develops and progresses. Mar 13, 2025

Website | Feed

Current Periodicals

Today's Dietitian Issues & Trends Archive The Issues & Trends Archive on Today's Dietitian offers a comprehensive collection of articles that delve into current topics in nutrition and dietetics.
Today's Dietitian Current Issue Today's Dietitian magazine. The Current Issue page provides access to the newest articles on evidence-based nutrition, emerging health topics, industry news, and expert commentary for dietitians and nutrition professionals.

Top Nutrition Trends:

Dairy Council of California – Trends & Insights key nutrition and dairy industry trends, including consumer behaviors, sustainability, and evolving dietary guidelines.
KHNI Ten Key Health and Nutrition Trends for 2025 top health and nutrition trends shaping the year, including functional foods, personalized nutrition, and sustainability.
Natural Grocers – 2025 Trends upcoming health, nutrition, and sustainability trends shaping the year, from functional foods to eco-friendly living.
Healthy Eating – Nutrition Topics science-based nutrition information on healthy eating, dairy, meal planning, and wellness trends.

Key Nutrition Bodies

Organizations and institutions shaping the field of Nutrition & Dietetics. This guide connects you to foundational groups, commissions, and societies dedicated to advancing nutritional science and public health initiatives.

International Nutrition Foundation (INF) Dedicated to supporting health and nutrition in developing countries, INF collaborates with governmental and non-governmental entities to improve public well-being.
Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI) Since 1971, CSPI has been a leading advocate for a healthier food system, influencing public policy and consumer practices through research and education.
Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) CDR ensures public health and safety by certifying the competence of dietitians and dietetic technicians through rigorous credentialing and assessment processes.
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics The Academy provides comprehensive nutrition information and resources, offering access to registered dietitians for professional guidance and public health improvement.
American Society for Nutrition (ASN) ASN fosters the advancement of nutritional science and its practical application, hosting events and providing updates through its active community of professionals.
School Nutrition Association (SNA) SNA is the authority on school nutrition, offering educational resources, networking opportunities, and innovative recipes to its members nationwide.
Institute of Food Technologists (IFT) Since 1939, IFT has led the charge in advancing food science and technology, providing a platform for global collaboration and innovation to enhance food safety and quality.

Get Help with Research!

As your subject librarian, I'm here to assist you with any questions or research needs you may have. Here are some resources and services available to you:

Contact Your Subject Librarian
Contact me with questions or to get help with your research!
Help with Research

Online Reference Materials

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access over 900 encyclopedias and reference books from multiple disciplines in one searchable digital library.

Gale eBooks A collection of about 900 encyclopedias and other reference books from several publishers across many disciplines that can be searched at one time.

Oxford Reference

Access over 2 million entries from cross-searchable Oxford encyclopedias and illustrated reference books.

Oxford Reference Online More than 2 million entries from hundreds of cross-searchable Oxford encyclopedias and other reference books, many of which are illustrated.

Access the SpringerLink for a comprehensive range of online reference materials,

SpringerLink Journals Online Collection SpringerLink consists of over 1,000 electronic journals from scientific, technical and medical disciplines.Coverage: 1997-presentUpdated daily.