Research Guides: Finding Primary Sources for History Research: Primary Journal and Magazine Articles

Finding Primary Journal and Magazine Articles

America's Historical Imprints, 1639-1819 This is comprised of three component databases: all can be searched simultaneously.American Broadsides & Ephemera, 1760-1900. Provides fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 30,000 broadsides & ephemera.Early American Imprints: Series I, 1639-1800. Is a full text facsimile collection consisting of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets & broadsides.Early American Imprints: Series II, 1801-1819 provides full-text facsimile access to 36,000 American books, pamphlets & broadsides.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (1684-1912) Provides full text journal and magazine content, with illustrations, documenting the life of America from colonial times up to the early 20th century.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Periodicals, 1740-1900 Contains full text facsimile access to over 1,100 popular & scholarly periodicals published between 1740 and 1900, including special interest & general magazines, literary & professional journals, children’s & women’s magazines, & many other historically-significant periodicals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
California Newspaper Archive Full text facsimile content of California newspapers from 1846 to date. Includes Long Beach newspapers, 1938-1977, Orange County Register 1913-2016 and many other regional California newspapers.
- This link opens in a new window
Harper's Bazaar Archive (1867 - current) The Harper’s Bazaar Archive includes the backfiles of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar. In combination, these publications comprise almost 500,000 pages of content from 1867 to the present, representing a vast and indispensable resource for the study of fashion and related fields.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Chicago Defender, 1905-1975 A full text African American newspaper available from 1905-1975. Historical research on civil rights, segregation, African American migration to the industrial states, anti-lynching legislation, and the modern civil rights movement. Also published the works of Black authors, such as Gwendolyn Brooks and Langston Hughes.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Los Angeles Times Full text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times for 1881-1996. Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. For more current content, see: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical New York Times Full text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English published from 1907 – 1984. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Useful for 20th century history & politics.
- This link opens in a new window

Lantern: Collections of Media History Digital Library
Searches over 8000 digitized documents including classic media periodicals that are in the public domain, ranging from the 1860s to the 1990s.

19th Century US Newspapers Digital Archive Features publications of all kinds, from political party newspapers to major dailies papers published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy.
- This link opens in a new window
Early European Books Offers digital access to pre-1701 European books and incunabula in high-resolution color. Includes materials from major libraries like Det Kongelige Bibliotek, Bibliothèque nationale de France, Welcome Library London and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EEBO Early English Books Online, 1473 -1700 A full text collection of over 100,000 facsimile e-books. Provides full text access to books in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Magazine Archive Complete issues of 27 key titles, chronicling the history and evolution of LGBT history and culture, including civil rights, health, lifestyle, politics, art and more from local, national and international writers, editors, thinkers, organizers and activists. From 1950s to 2015.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture Rare archival content, including letters, court documents, periodicals, speeches, interviews and ephemera from local, national and international organizations, as well as notable individuals from around the world, to trace the history of LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the late 19th century to the present day.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek)‎ Collection of leading magazines of the 20th century relating to political history, current events of the day, history, international relations, and more. Covers 1930 to date where the majority of articles are from Newsweek magazine.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 Readers' Guide Retrospective contains comprehensive indexing of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States published 1890-1982.
- This link opens in a new window
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.
- This link opens in a new window
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspaper Collection The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK, covering the period 1672-1737.
- This link opens in a new window
Times (of London) Digital Archive Full text online coverage of the Times (of London, England) from 1785 up until five years ago ( a moving wall). Includes news articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, editorials, obituaries, ads. Many images, maps, graphics and photographs are viewable starting by the 1880s. No coverage of the Sunday Times (of London) is included.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Vogue Archive‎ The Vogue Archive presents the full run of the American Vogue, 1892 to present, for the library market. Every page, cover, advertisement, image, and fold out is indexed, searchable, and viewable in beautiful high-resolution color.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Magazine Archive‎ Collection 1 & 2 (1846 - 2005) Access to the backfiles of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, and Woman’s Day, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Wear Daily Archive Women's Wear Daily magazine on fashion, marketing, retail business, and twentieth-century material culture. Holdings from 1910 to most recent six months.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window