Video Tutorial Collection: General & Multidisciplinary Research

This is part one of a video series on how to find articles using the library's electronic databases.

Week Four, Part One

This is part two of a series on how to find articles using the library's electronic databases.

Week Four, Part Two

Finding Journals Online with Dr. P.

This short video shows how to search in the CSULB library to find out if we have online access to a journal or newspaper. Searching for journals is referenced on Step 5 of my Steps to Research Handout or my Steps to Research Handout - ADA Version

This video walks through some of the suggestions on Step Seven (7) of my Steps to Research Handout. It focuses on looking up journals and their publishers using one of our databases, Ulrichs Web, as well as looking up authors in Google.

Please reference the  Steps to Research Handout or my Steps to Research Handout - ADA Version with this video, as the handout has useful details and further explanations. 

Use the links below to access Ulrich's Web via our CSULB Databases and Google Scholar via the Web/Internet.

Cabells can be used in conjunction with our other journal information and analytics databases: Journal Citations Reports (In-Cites), also known as JCR, and Ulrich's Web, which is discussed in my video Evaluate Sources (7). Cabells, JCR and Ulrich's require paid subscriptions to use - we have access to them through the CSULB Library databases. 

For more help with Cabells, please see the following websites and YouTube videos:

Cabells Intro to Journalytics (YouTube Video)

Cabells Intro to Predatory Reports (YouTube Video)

Use the link below to access Cabells via our CSULB Databases.

Signing into the Library and Finding Research Guides with Dr. P.

This video explains how to access CSULB library website and how to get to the Librarian Research Guides, including my own guides. These guides are available 24/7 online. They explain how to use the library resources to help you with assignments in any of your classes. My guides include free help with MLA Style and the PDF of my Steps to Research Handout, or the Steps to Research Handout - ADA Version, which you can download or read online.

PLEASE NOTE:

The SignOn Process has been simplified. The video has the older method. In the current method, go to CSULB.edu. Select STUDENTS at the top-left. This will bring you straight into the Single SignOn, and then to your Apps Dashboard, where you have access to the University Library button, as well as Canvas, and other software that you will use during your time at CSULB.

Here are some screenshots of the new method:

This video explains the basic steps to downloading PDFs of articles and book chapters, downloading eBooks to a device, and how to access streaming videos of films, plays and documentaries. 

PLEASE NOTE:  Find out more about Interlibrary Loan (ILL) HERE.

Time Stamps, so you can fast-forward in the video:

Downloading PDFs: 0:35

Downloading eBooks to a Device: 4:05

Accessing Streaming Media: 11:18

Basic CSULB Database Search with Dr. P.

This video explains how to access CSULB databases and search one of our most popular ones, Academic Search Complete. You will need to be an enrolled CSULB student or faculty to follow along completely. The video includes using search terms, limiters and how to download a PDF.

Use this video with my Steps to Research Handout, or my Steps to Research Handout - ADA Version

More Databases with Dr. P.

This video looks more closely at working with multiple databases. Specifically, I look at searching multiple databases at one time in EBSCO and ProQuest. I also look at MLA International Bibliography and JSTOR. This video references Steps 1-3 in my Steps to Research Handout or my Steps to Research Handout - ADA Version

If you would like to jump ahead: EBSCO: 0:45 | MLA Int'l Bib 5:37 | ProQuest 7:03 | JSTOR 9:53

This video explains how to access and use Journal Citation Reports (JCR) at CSULB. JCR is a database that describes the statistics of how often items in a journal are cited in other journals, as well as details related to a journal's publications and performance.

JCR can be used in conjunction with our other journal information and analytics databases: Cabells and Ulrich's Web.

For more information about how to evaluate sources as a whole, see Step 7 on my handout and watch its matching Step 7 video: Evaluate Sources. JCR, Cabells, and Ulrich's require paid subscriptions to use - we have access to them through the CSULB Library databases.

Use the link below to access JCR via our CSULB Databases.