Academic Search CompleteA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Updated daily.
Biography and Genealogy Master IndexComprehensive index to over 13 million biographical sketches in current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. A complete list of sources is available at the top of each screen under Sources Indexed.
Updated twice yearly.
Global NewsstreamU.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
Historical Los Angeles TimesFull text, facsimile content of the Los Angeles Times starting from 1881 to the present, (last 13 years excluded). Includes complete articles, photographs, advertisements, classified ads, legal notices, comics, editorials, commentary, letters to the editor, sports, radio and television schedules. See also database: Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
Historical New York TimesFull text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
JSTORJSTOR is a growing archive of over 500 full text scholarly journals. This large, interdisciplinary collection covers journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Current issues are usually NOT included.
Coverage: Historic coverage with some current issues.
Times (of London) Digital ArchiveFull text online coverage of the Times (of London, England) from 1785 up until five years ago ( a moving wall). Includes news articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, editorials, obituaries, ads. Many images, maps, graphics and photographs are viewable starting by the 1880s. No coverage of the Sunday Times (of London) is included.
America: History and LifeProvides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
Dissertations and ThesesIndexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities in a variety of subject areas: History ,The Arts , Social Sciences , Literature & Language. Many are full-text, others can be requested through BeachReach. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (those produced within the last six months) may not be available online.
Coverage: 1637 to date.
Historical AbstractsIndexes the last 60 years of “modern history” (historical scope, post 1450 to date) and covers over 2000 scholarly journals, books, and Ph.D. dissertations . Does not cover the U.S. and Canada (use America History & Life)