Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development and Management Manual CSULB

Policy and procedures on collection development and management at CSULB

Collection Development Calendar Cycle 

A fiscal-year calendar has been established that provides for deadlines and benchmarks for various aspects of the collection development and management process. X Drive > Library Faculty Committees > CDMC > Collection Development Calendar.

Collection Development Calendar

July 1

  • New fiscal year begins.
  • Order processing begins for Reserve requests only.
  • Weekly accounting reports for new fiscal year start.
  • Collection Development Officer (CDO) asks Technical Services for list of books/media, requested by librarians in previous fiscal year but not ordered/paid for, so Library Faculty and other selectors can decide if they still want the titles. CDO provides deadline for review.

August 1

  • Deadline for serial cancellations for next calendar year due to Technical Services.

September 1 (est.)

  • University budget announced

October 15

  • Target date for announcement of budget allocations for books and media;

November 15 

  • Submit new subscription requests to CDO to assure Jan. 1 start.
  • Most January subscription renewals complete.

January 1

  • CDMC reviews ILL requests/ Copyright costs to evaluate serial titles for new subscriptions, then send recommendations to the CDO.

February 1

  • Target date to encumber 75% of book/non-serial funds

March 15

  • CDMC reviews standing orders on odd years for cancelation.

April 1

  • Deadline for eBook, book and media requests ordered through direct vendors (GOBI, etc.) to insure payment by end of fiscal year. 
  • Deadline for any other book and media purchases sent to CDO.
  • Reserve requests for books and media for summer classes can be sent to CDO after this date.

April 15

  • Once funds for all of the above orders are encumbered or committed, the CDO may spend remaining allocated funds on Wish List items identified as high priority by Collection Development & Management Committee, or as directed by the Dean.

April 15-May 15

  • CDO provides Library Faculty and other selectors with data for subscription review by April 15.
  • Library Faculty and other selectors review subscriptions using usage data and any other considerations to evaluate serial titles for cancelation and/or new subscriptions for next fiscal year, then send recommendations to the CDO.

May 30             

  • List of potential subscription non-renewals provided to Technical Services.
  • Most July 1 renewals complete.

June 1-15

  • University and library accounts closed; all Order requests received by Technical Services are to be paid from next fiscal year funds unless items have been received prior to June 30; if received prior to June 30 the University requires payment with current year funds.

June 30

  • End of fiscal year

CDMC Updated June 2020