Research Guides: Creative Writing &amp; Genre Fiction: Find Articles, Criticism, etc.

Start with These

Science Fiction & Fantasy Research Database [SFFRDb]
The SFFRDB is THE database for identifying material about science fiction, fantasy, and horror. As of August 2008, it provides citations to more than 81,000 historical and critical books and articles on SF, fantasy, horror, utopian, and speculative literature. Does NOT provide SFX or Get IT @ CSULB linking buttons for finding materials; please consult OneSearch on the library homepage.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Citations to scholarly works on literatures, languages, linguistics, folklore, literary theory, dramatic arts, and printing history since the 5th century CE. Also includes rhetoric and teaching practices. Covers 1926 to present, updated ten times yearly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Also Useful

Burgess, Michael. Reference Guide to Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror. PN 3433.5 .B873 1992

Will help you to identify specialized reference resources (histories, dictionaries and encyclopedias, bibliographies, etc., some of which the CSULB Library owns (check OneSearch.)

Feminist Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Utopia.

The Feminist SF site provides bibliographies of feminist science fiction, fantasy, and utopian novels, short stories, anthologies, and other writings, as well as reviews, bibliographies of literary criticism, research guides guides to teaching feminist SF, and information on the feminist SF community, and has been doing so since 1994.

Science Fiction Book Review Index, 1923-1973. By H. W. Hall. 1st Floor Reference PN 3433.8 .H354

Science Fiction Book Review Index, 1974-1979. By H. W. Hall. 1st Floor Reference PN 3433.8 .H355

Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Review Index, 1980-1984. By H. W. Hall. Ref PN 3433.8 .H356 1985

Hall's three SFBRI's provide access to reviews of thousands of science fiction and fantasy books. The reviews are found in both mainstream and SF specialist publications, many of which are in the CSULB Library.

Science Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, Utopian, and Dystopian Theses and Dissertations. By Leslie Kay Swigart.

A listing of some 2000 doctoral dissertations, masters' theses, and baccalaureat theses, on science fiction, fantasy, horror, utopian, and dystopian literature and media. It will be updated once Ms. Swigart's dissertation is complete, Soon! Ms. Swigart's expertise comes from her decades as CSULB librarian for Literature. Dr. Alexis Pavenick (Dr. P.) is our current Librarian for Literature.

Additional Specialized Resources

Feminist Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Utopia

Bibliographies of feminist works by gender-identity, audience, format, etc. Information about authors. Research, criticism, and teaching materials. Resources for writers and fans about the feminist SF community.

Foreign Language Resources:

CERLI

Centre D'Etudes et de Recherche des Litteratures de L'Imaginaire

Quarante-Deux: Quesques pages sur la Science-Fiction

"Base de donnees, critiques, articles, nouvelles, prix litteraires, illustrations et carnet personnels."