Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SciFi / Fantasy / Mystery / Folk Tales & Myths / Creative Writing

This guide combines information about our Science Fiction, Fantasy and Mystery collections as well as resources for creative writers.

General Resources

The Moving Image:

Internet Movie Database (IMDB.com)

Internet Movie Database (IMDB) is a database of movie and TV information which has been in operation since 1990. It permits simple searching of the database by such categories as: Movie/TV title, Cast/crew name, and Character name. It also permits advanced searching for titles by year, genre, country, production company, location and much more.  Try the "Advanced Search" for more options.

Internet Horror Movie Database (IHMDB)

Like IMDB, but only horror films.

The Art of Penguin Science Fiction.

Cover art gallery from an important British publisher.

British Universities Film & Video Council.

The BUFVC federated search environment is an innovative 'all-in-one' search engine that allows users to access nine online databases, containing records, relating to film, television and radio content.  BUFVC hosts, curates and delivers 9 substantial online databases relating to film, television and radio content dating from 1896 onwards. You can now search more than 13 million records in one go, or if you wish, one collection at a time.

Dr. Who.  [BBC] 

The classic series with Doctors One through Eight.  Pictures, episode guide, photonovels, webcasts, games.

A Futurist at the Movies 

"This is a site about the future in movies. This includes: explicit depictions of the future; depictions of significant events that have yet to occur.  It is not film criticism. Movies include the future for myriad reasons, and approach it from many angles. They are all treated equally here, as if they were making predictions. Many are attempting no such thing."

Lee, Walt.  Reference Guide to Fantastic Film: Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror.  PN 1995.9.F36 L4 

One of the most thorough listings of fantastic film up through the early 1970s.

SyFy

The cable/satellite TV channel, formerly known as: SciFi.

Time Travel Guide: The Big List

More than 600 time travel movies and TV shows!

Weinberg, Robert. A Biographical Dictionary of Science Fiction and Fantasy ArtistsORCA NC 961.6 .W45 1988 

When you search this title in OneSearch. you will be offered the link to call the book from our storage unit ORCA. Takes 30 minutes or less, and the book will be waiting for you at the Circulation Desk.