Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SciFi / Fantasy / Mystery / Folk Tales & Myths / Creative Writing

This guide combines information about our Science Fiction, Fantasy and Mystery collections as well as resources for creative writers.

David N. Samuelson Science Fiction Magazine Collection

Location:  The Samuelson SF Magazine Collection is located in the Special Collections & University Archives department (3rd floor, Room 300, east end of elevator lobby).

The Collection:  The collection is composed of nearly five dozen SF & F magazine titles, often in complete, or nearly complete, runs.  All of the titles are catalogued, with the dates of our holdings indicated, in the Library's online catalog.

Origin:  Professor Samuelson (Emeritus Professor of English) donated lengthy, and often complete runs of many science fiction and fantasy magazines published from the 1940's through the early 21st century.

Supporting the SF & F Magazine Collections at CSULB:  Magazine runs and individual issues not currently in our collection may be added to our collections through gifts and other donations.  If you wish to donate to this collection, please contact: the Library's Collection Development Officer, Carol Perruso: Carol.Perruso@csulb.edu or (562) 985-5735 .   Further information on donating funds or offering materials may be found at:  http://www.csulb.edu/library/donors/giving.html.