Research Guides: FSCI Food Science Subject Guide: Articles & Journals

Search Strategies

Select & Use Keywords

Choose Specific Keywords: Use precise terms related to your topic, such as "Food Safety", "Pathogen Detection", and Salmonella

Combine Keywords: Use Boolean operators to refine searches, such as:

(Food Safety OR Pathogen Detection) AND salmonella

Expand with Synonyms: Broaden your search by including related terms:

(Food Safety OR Pathogen Detection) AND (salmonella OR E. coli) AND (Rapid Testing OR Biosensors)

For more guidance, watch the video Selecting & Using Keywords to refine your search strategy.

Cited Reference Searching

Track research trends and find more resources by exploring cited references.

Web of Science

Use citation tools and 'Times Cited' to trace influential works and expand your research.

Web of Science Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.

Google Scholar Citation Linking

Find articles that cite your source using Google Scholar.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus database access
Only current CSULB students, faculty, and staff can connect by logging in when prompted through the library website.

Databases

Access Food Sciences Databases

Agriculture & Environment

AGRICOLA A database of citations and abstracts of agricultural literature. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Coverage: 1970-present. Updated daily.
Agricultural and Environmental Science Collection Abstracts and citations from over 6000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications in agriculture; air quality; bacteriology; ecology; ecotourism; energy resources; environmental impact statements; hazardous waste; human population dynamics; industrial hygiene; microbiology; pollution; risk assessment; and toxicology. Coverage: 1967 to date.
Nutrition and Food Sciences Database Covers the whole food chain from the raw ingredients to the physiological and health effects of nutrients. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
Food Studies Online Food Studies Online is interdisciplinary, but is of primary interest to social scientists and students of policy and business. Marketing and consumerism, food history, food movements, culinary and food design, food and identity, health, policy, religion, sociology, anthropology and history.

Health & Nutrition

Nutrition Abstracts - Human and Experimental NARA covers the latest information on all issues related to food and health and features all aspects of human nutrition, including: techniques, foods, physiology and biochemistry, nutrition and health, and clinical nutrition. Covers: 1994- . Updated weekly.
MEDLINE (via Web of Science) The National Library of Medicine’s international, biomedicine & health journal database covering all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences. The majority of the publications covered in MEDLINE are scholarly journals; a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to the discipline are included.Coverage = 1951 - current.
PubMed@CSULB Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
TOXLINE Produced by the National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE covers all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
Food Studies Online Food Studies Online is interdisciplinary, but is of primary interest to social scientists and students of policy and business. Marketing and consumerism, food history, food movements, culinary and food design, food and identity, health, policy, religion, sociology, anthropology and history.

Science & Research

Web of Science Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
ScienceDirect Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
Compendex (via Engineering Village) Over 7 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference proceedings, and technical reports on all aspects of engineering including civil, computer, mechanical, material, aerospace, electronic, communication, transportation and more. Coverage: 1969 to present.
Many items identified as document type “conference proceeding” “or conference proceedings “or “conference articles” in Compendex are not published, making it difficult for BeachReach (Interlibrary Loan) to obtain a copy. However, authors often publish their findings in journal articles, so searching for the author(s) and their titles/topics may help you locate journal articles on the same topic(s) by the same author(s). If you need help, you may also contact Hema.Ramachandran@csulb.edu.
JSTOR Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
Biological Abstracts An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.
ACS Web Editions Full text of all years of 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society. Coverage: 1971 to date. 
SciFinder Web With access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry file, SciFinder is the most comprehensive chemical resource including references, substances and reactions. 
SpringerLink Journals Online Collection SpringerLink consists of over 1,000 electronic journals from scientific, technical and medical disciplines.Coverage: 1997-presentUpdated daily.
Wiley Online Library Access to over 1400 online journals from publisher Wiley-Blackwell in the fields of science, technology, engineering, medicine, mathematics, computer science, business, education, environmental science, humanities, law, and psychology. Full page images are available in PDF format and, in some cases, full text in HTML format is also available.
Dissertations and Theses Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Social Explorer Provides thousands of interactive and downloadable data maps, charts, and reports with built-in data indicators related to demographic, economy, health, politics, crime, and environmental information in the USA.

Legal & Business

Business Source Premier Contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
IBISWorld Limited to 30 downloads per session.  Covers about 680 U.S. industries written at the 5-digit level of NAICS. Each report contains key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, performance and outlook. These reports are written by industry specialists. Each report is updated every 4 months.
Statista Reports that provide an aggregate of a variety of data, mainly statistics. Search for data by industry, political issue, consumerism, companies or countries. The data reports provide sourcing information.
ABI/INFORM Complete A comprehensive business database with over 3,200 journals covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It consists of: ABI Global, ABI Archive, ABI Images, ABI Trade and Industry, Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American, and EIU. Coverage: 1971 to date.

Free Database Organized by Subject

Free Databases

Web of Science Tutorial

Web of Science Tutorial
Learn to navigate and use Web of Science

Web of Science Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.

ScienceDirect Tutorial

ScienceDirect Tutorial
Learn to navigate and use ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.

Find Journals

Locate specific journals by title or subject and evaluate their impact using citation data.

Journal Search
Locate specific journals by title or subject

Use Cabells to find academic journals, publishing information, manuscript tools, and journal metrics.

Cabells Journalytics and Predatory Reports Find academic journal information for publishing research with Cabells suite of tools for identifying over 11,000 academic journals, tools for identifying predatory journals, manuscript preparation tools, and a suite of metrics to help users find the right journals.

Locate highly ranked journals Use Journal Citation Reports to search a journal title or select another option to find journals ranked by impact factor

Journal Citation Reports (InCites) Allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Citation data on journals in virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

Use Ulrichsweb for an easy-to-search source of detailed information on academic and scholarly journals

Ulrichsweb (Ulrich's) Ulrich's™ provides comprehensive bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals, including type of periodical, frequency of publication, format, ISSN, subject and LC classifications and price information.

Food Science Journals

Essential Food Science Journals

Comprehensive Reviews In Food Science And Food Safety Comprehensive Reviews in Food Science and Food Safety offers in-depth reviews on current and emerging issues in food science and safety, covering topics from food microbiology to toxicology and technology.
Trends In Food Science & Technology
Provides insights into critical reviews and innovative research developments.
Critical Reviews In Food Science And Nutrition Offers detailed analyses and reviews on the latest findings in food science and nutrition.
Food Chemistry Focuses on the chemistry and biochemistry of foods and raw materials.
Journal Of Agricultural And Food Chemistry
Emphasizes the research on the chemistry of agricultural and food products.
Food Microbiology Focuses on the microbiological studies relevant to food production and consumption.
Food Control Specializes in the safety and quality of foods, including regulatory, legal, and policy aspects.
International Journal of Food Science International Journal of Food Science highlights diverse research in food science, including food technology, nutrition, safety, and the biochemical aspects of foods.
International Journal Of Food Microbiology
Addresses research on all aspects of food microbiology.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Configure Google Scholar to link your account with the CSULB Library for access to full-text materials. Watch this video to learn how.

Search Google Scholar

FSCI Food Science Subject Guide: Articles & Journals

Articles & Journals Hub

Search Strategies

Select & Use Keywords

Cited Reference Searching

Track research trends and find more resources by exploring cited references.

Web of Science

Google Scholar Citation Linking

Off-Campus Access

Databases

Access Food Sciences Databases

Agriculture & Environment

Health & Nutrition

Science & Research

Legal & Business

Free Database Organized by Subject

Web of Science Tutorial

Web of Science Tutorial Learn to navigate and use Web of Science

ScienceDirect Tutorial

Find Journals

Find Journals

Food Science Journals

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Configure Google Scholar to link your account with the CSULB Library for access to full-text materials. Watch this video to learn how.

Web of Science Tutorial
Learn to navigate and use Web of Science

Google Scholar
Configure Google Scholar to link your account with the CSULB Library for access to full-text materials. Watch this video to learn how.