A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles.
America: History and LifeProvides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
ATLA Religion DatabaseIndexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English, covering topics in the social sciences & humanities. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Coverage: 1949 to date.
Dissertations and ThesesIndexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities in a variety of subject areas: History ,The Arts , Social Sciences , Literature & Language. Many are full-text, others can be requested through BeachReach. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (those produced within the last six months) may not be available online.
Coverage: 1637 to date.
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-presentNewspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
Historical AbstractsIndexes the last 60 years of “modern history” (historical scope, post 1450 to date) and covers over 2000 scholarly journals, books, and Ph.D. dissertations . Does not cover the U.S. and Canada (use America History & Life)
Scanned, browsable PDFs (full text) of the newpaper from 1947-2000.
RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesThis is a selective bibliography of the last 50 years of scholarship in the various fields of Jewish studies and Eretz Israel. RAMBI is the Hebrew acronym for Reshimat Ma'amarim be-Mada'ei ha-Yahadut. It is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages - mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.
SocINDEX Full TextSocINDEX provides abstracts to articles on topics of abortion, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociology, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. Coverage: 1940 to present, with some abstracts back to 1895. Updated monthly.
American Periodicals, 1740-1900Contains full text facsimile access to over 1,100 popular & scholarly periodicals published between 1740 and 1900, including special interest & general magazines, literary & professional journals, children’s & women’s magazines, & many other historically-significant periodicals.
Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies OnlineConsists of two sub components: 1) International Medieval Bibliography covers approximately 300,000 journal article, book chapter, & conference proceeding citations dating back to 1967; 2) Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale indexes books and book reviews dating back to 1957. Both components cover primarily European and Mediterranean region history within the date range 300-1500 AD.
Communication & Mass Media CompleteCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
JSTORJSTOR is a growing archive of over 500 full text scholarly journals. This large, interdisciplinary collection covers journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Current issues are usually NOT included.
Coverage: Historic coverage with some current issues.
MLA International BibliographyCitations to scholarly books, to critical articles/essays from scholarly journals and books, and to doctoral dissertations, on literatures, languages, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing, world-wide since the 5th century CE. Includes some material on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature as well. Covers 1926 to present. Updated ten times per year.
Philosopher's IndexCovers scholarly research in all areas of philosophy & monitors more than 1,500 journals from 100+ countries: updated quarterly. Research dates back to 1940. Content includes journals, books, book chapters & book reviews. It monitors more than 1,500 journals from 100+ countries.
Historical New York TimesFull text facsimile content of the New York Times from 1851 up until the previous three years. Includes all articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, comics, obituaries, classifieds, and display ads. More photographs may be viewable using the “full page PDF” viewing option.
Times (of London) Digital ArchiveFull text online coverage of the Times (of London, England) from 1785 up until five years ago ( a moving wall). Includes news articles, reviews, commentary, literary criticism, editorials, obituaries, ads. Many images, maps, graphics and photographs are viewable starting by the 1880s. No coverage of the Sunday Times (of London) is included.
To find a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper article enter the name of the journal (NOT the title of the article) in this OneSearch Journal Title Search. It will link you to print holdings and/or full-text online subscriptions CSULB owns.
Not Available at CSULB?
Is your article not available at CSULB?
Put in a request through BeachReach to get full-text of any article.
You can get to BeachReach from the page when you are searching in the databases.