SCED Science Education Subject Guide: Articles & Journals
A guide for finding Science Education information to support your academic research and coursework
Articles & Journals Hub
The Articles & Journals page is your essential hub for exploring various types of materials, including databases, and strategic search tips to streamline your research.
Search Strategies
Select & Use Keywords
Choose Specific Keywords: Use precise terms related to your topic, such as "Early Childhood", STEM, and Education
Combine Keywords: Use Boolean operators to refine searches, for example:
Early Childhood AND STEM AND Education
Expand with Synonyms: Broaden your search by including related terms:
(Preschool OR "Early Childhood") AND (STEM OR "Science Technology Engineering Mathematics") AND (Education OR Teaching OR Learning)
For more guidance, watch the video Selecting & Using Keywords to refine your search strategy.
Cited Reference & Bibliographic Searching
Cited Reference Searching:
This search technique allows you to trace the influence of seminal works by identifying subsequent articles that have cited them, helping you explore the development of research topics over time.
Web of Science
- Use Web of Science's citation tools and 'Times Cited' feature for a comprehensive cited reference search and deeper exploration of your subject's citation network
Google Scholar Citation Linking
- Expand your search with Google Scholar's Citation-Linking for finding articles that cite your source.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar
Configure Google Scholar to link your account with the CSULB Library for access to full-text materials. Watch this video to learn how.
Search Google Scholar
Off-Campus Database Access
Off-campus database access
Only current CSULB students, faculty, and staff can connect by logging in when prompted through the library website.
Databases
Recommended Databases
- ERIC (via EBSCO) Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- Education Magazine Archive 1910 – 2015 Provides access to the digitized backfiles of 26 major magazines and trade publications in the field of education, dating from the early 20th century through to the 21st.
- Education Index Retrospective, 1929-1983 Cover-to-cover indexing of 600 periodicals in the areas of education history and foundations. It cites nearly one million articles, including book reviews.Coverage: 1929 - 1983
- Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- APA PsycINFO Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- JoVE Science Education Educators and students use our innovative video collections in the JoVE Science Education Library to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques. These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
- Web of Science Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- ScienceDirect Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- JSTOR Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- Middle Search Plus Contains full text for nearly 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents.
- Primary Search Primary Search is a database that offers full text access to over 50 popular elementary school magazines. In addition Primary Search offers access to the Encyclopedia of Animals and Funk and Wagnall's. Covers: 1984 to present. Updated: Weekly.
- APA PsycARTICLES PsycArticles is a definitive source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycArticles database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 40,000 articles from 53 journals - 45 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 8 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage: 1985 to present.
- SpringerLink Journals Online Collection SpringerLink consists of over 1,000 electronic journals from scientific, technical and medical disciplines.Coverage: 1997-presentUpdated daily.
- SAGE Premier Over 440 journals in social science, scientific, medical, professional and business disciplines.Coverage: 1999 to present.
- MAS Ultra Designed for high school libraries, contains full text of popular high school magazines, full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and a School Image Collection (back to 1975 for key magazines)
- Opposing Viewpoints A collection of viewpoints from various sources on social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, endangered species, to name a few. Includes relevant articles, encyclopedia entries and opinions for each topic covered.
Educational Tests
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, and first published in 1938 by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing.
- ETS TestLink: Test Collection Database A database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS.
- APA PsycINFO Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
More Reseearch Databases
- Dissertations and Theses Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- AGRICOLA A database of citations and abstracts of agricultural literature. Topics covered include: animal & veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture & fisheries, farming & farming systems, agricultural economics, extension & education, food & human nutrition, and earth & environmental sciences. Coverage: 1970-present. Updated daily.
- Biological Abstracts An expansive index to the world’s biology journal literature, with topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology. 1926 to present.
- GreenFILE Provides articles on the of human impact to the environment, including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
- Public Library of Science (PLoS) The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a collection of full-text online science journals. Includes One, Biology, Medicine, Computational Biology, Genetics, Pathogens, Neglected Tropical Diseases. All of PLoS journals are free and open to the public. 2003-Present
- SciFinder Web With access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry file, SciFinder is the most comprehensive chemical resource including references, substances and reactions. Users must register individually using a CSULB e-mail address to access SciFinder.
- Wiley Online Library Access to over 1400 online journals from publisher Wiley-Blackwell in the fields of science, technology, engineering, medicine, mathematics, computer science, business, education, environmental science, humanities, law, and psychology. Full page images are available in PDF format and, in some cases, full text in HTML format is also available.
- Zoological Record The world’s leading taxonomic reference and oldest (back to 1864) continuing database of animal biology where you can determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species, track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes and keep up all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues.
- Social Explorer Provides thousands of interactive and downloadable data maps, charts, and reports with built-in data indicators related to demographic, economy, health, politics, crime, and environmental information in the USA.
- Annual Reviews Provides critical reviews of over fifty science, medicine, and social science topics. Reviews include what is supported, what is controversial and presents historical context and highlights the major questions that remain. Some coverage back to 1932.
Free Science Databases
Free Open-Access Science Databases
- ASDL Analytical Sciences Digital Library The Analytical Sciences Digital Library, ASDL, collects, catalogs, links and publishes peer reviewed web-based discovery materials pertinent to innovations in curricular development and supporting technical resources in the analytical sciences. The ASDL website (www.asdlib.org) is one of several collections initially funded by NSF’s National Science Digital Library (NSDL) program, and is currently supported by the Division of Analytical Chemistry of the American Chemical Society. ASDL grew out of discussions at regional and national meetings on ways to implement recommendations from NSF-sponsored workshops that evaluated teaching practices in the analytical curriculum. These recommendations can be found in the workshop report Curricular Developments in the Analytical Sciences, available as a pdf.
- BioOne BioOne Complete covers many of the main branches of biology and is home to a number of interdisciplinary titles. Whether you are looking for journals that focus broadly on zoology or a publication exclusively on acarology, BioOne Complete offers both breadth and depth in the biological sciences.
- Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available. DOAJ operates an education and outreach program across the globe, focusing on improving the quality of applications submitted.
- ERIC The ERIC online system provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, are now available for free.
- Highly Cited Researchers This freely accessible Web site gives research professionals working in a variety of occupations an invaluable tool to identify individuals, departments and laboratories that have made fundamental contributions to the advancement of science and technology in recent decades.
- National Academies Press Free download of all PDFs in education, science, medicine, engineering and more.
- PLoS PLOS was founded as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to advance progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. We believe that OPEN is a mindset that represents the best scientific values, bringing scientists together to share work as rapidly and widely as possible, to advance science faster and to benefit society as a whole.
- PLoS One The world’s first multidisciplinary Open Access journal, PLOS ONE accepts scientifically rigorous research, regardless of novelty. PLOS ONE’s broad scope provides a platform to publish primary research, including interdisciplinary and replication studies as well as negative results. The journal’s publication criteria are based on high ethical standards and the rigor of the methodology and conclusions reported. Scope: PLOS ONE features reports of original research from the natural sciences, medical research, engineering, as well as the related social sciences and humanities that will contribute to the base of scientific knowledge. By not excluding research on the basis of subject area, PLOS ONE facilitates the discovery of connections between research whether within or between disciplines.
- Science.gov Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
- Science Daily Features major headlines and news stories for all scientific disciplines, including laboratory science, environmental science, health science, and computer science. The site features easy sorting options, is updated continuously, and provides thorough source information for all stories.
- ScienceDirect Open Access Articles published open access are peer-reviewed and made free for everyone to read, download and reuse in line with the authors' choice of user license.
- Science Watch ScienceWatch.com (updated weekly) provides a behind-the-scenes look at the scientists, journals, institutions, nations, and papers selected by Essential Science IndicatorsSM from Thomson Reuters and other products of the Research Services Group.
- Scientific Journals Open Access Scientific Journals are multidimensional Open Access gateways for the exploration of scientific discoveries and new research in the medical and other Scientifics. Scientific Journals represent the collaborative efforts of many scientists and scholars from various disciplines. Science literatures have evolved from time to time in terms of specialization and target audience. Reports of new research findings are important to fuel novel assumptions and discoveries that can only be in existence through the publication of Science journals.
- Science and Technology of Advanced Materials Science and Technology of Advanced Materials is the leading open access, international journal covering a broad spectrum of materials science research including functional materials, synthesis and processing, theoretical analyses, characterization and properties of materials. Emphasis is placed on the interdisciplinary nature of materials science and issues at the forefront of the field, such as energy and environmental issues, as well as medical and bioengineering applications.
- WorldWideScience.org WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world (Architecture: What is under the Hood). Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.
- arXiv arXiv (pronounced archive) Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is maintained and operated by Cornell University with guidance from the arXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the arXiv Member Advisory Board, and with the help of numerous subject moderators.
- ScienceOpen.com ScienceOpen is a professional networking platform for scholars to enhance their research in the open, make an impact, and receive credit for it. We provide context building services for publishers, to bring researchers closer to the content than ever before. Our advanced search and discovery functions, combined with post-publication peer review, recommendation, social sharing, and collection-building features make ScienceOpen the only research platform you’ll ever need.
- PubMed primarily of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics
- PubChem PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public. Each month our website and programmatic services provide data to several million users worldwide.
Find Journals
Find Journals
Locate specific journals by title or subject and evaluate their impact using citation data.
- Journal SearchLocate specific journals by title or subject
Use Cabells to find academic journals, publishing information, manuscript tools, and journal metrics.
- Cabells Journalytics and Predatory Reports Find academic journal information for publishing research with Cabells suite of tools for identifying over 11,000 academic journals, tools for identifying predatory journals, manuscript preparation tools, and a suite of metrics to help users find the right journals.
Locate highly ranked journals Use Journal Citation Reports to search a journal title or select another option to find journals ranked by impact factor
- Journal Citation Reports (InCites) Allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Citation data on journals in virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
Use Ulrichsweb for an easy-to-search source of detailed information on academic and scholarly journals
- Ulrichsweb (Ulrich's) Ulrich's™ provides comprehensive bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals, including type of periodical, frequency of publication, format, ISSN, subject and LC classifications and price information.
Weekly Readers for Students
Weekly Readers for Students
- Scholastic Super Science Thematic issues containing articles, puzzles, projects and news in science for middle school students; seeds, plastics, toughing out winter, volcanoes.
Journals in Education, Scientific Disciplines
Journals in Education, Scientific Disciplines
- Academic medicine Academic Medicine, a peer-reviewed monthly journal, serves as an international forum for the exchange of ideas and information about policy, issues, and research concerning academic medicine, including strengthening the quality of medical education and training, enhancing the search for biomedical knowledge, advancing research in health services, and integrating education and research into the provision of effective health care.
- Medical education Medical Education seeks to be the pre-eminent journal in the field of education for health care professionals, and publishes material of the highest quality, reflecting world wide or provocative issues and perspectives. The journal welcomes high quality papers on all aspects of health professional education including; undergraduate education postgraduate training continuing professional development interprofessional education
- Studies in science education The central aim of Studies in Science Education is to publish review articles of the highest quality which provide analytical syntheses of research into key topics and issues in science education. In addressing this aim, the Editor and Editorial Advisory Board, are guided by a commitment to: maintaining and developing the highest standards of scholarship associated with the journal; publishing articles from as wide a range of authors as possible, in relation both to professional background and country of origin; publishing articles which serve both to consolidate and reflect upon existing fields of study and to promote new areas for research activity. Studies in Science Education will be of interest to all those involved in science education including: science education researchers, doctoral and masters students; science teachers at elementary, high school and university levels; science education policy makers; science education curriculum developers and text book writers. Articles featured in Studies in Science Education have been made available either following invitation from the Editor or through potential contributors offering pieces. Given the substantial nature of the review articles, the Editor is willing to give informal feedback on the suitability of proposals though all contributions, whether invited or not, are subject to full peer review. A limited number of books of special interest and concern to those involved in science education are normally reviewed in each volume.
- Physical review special topics. Physics education research Physical Review Physics Education Research (PRPER) covers the full array of experimental and theoretical research relating to the teaching and learning of physics and astronomy. PRPER is the only fully open access journal for physics education research.
- Journal of nutrition education The Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior (JNEB), the official journal of the Society for Nutrition Education and Behavior, is a refereed, scientific periodical that serves as a global resource for all professionals with an interest in nutrition education; nutrition and physical activity behavior theories and intervention outcomes; complementary and alternative medicine related to nutrition behaviors; food environment; food, nutrition, and physical activity communication strategies including technology; nutrition-related economics; food safety education; and scholarship of learning related to these areas.
- Advances in health sciences education Advances in Health Sciences Education serves as an international forum for scholarly and state-of-the-art research and development into all aspects of health sciences education. It will not only publish empirical studies but also stimulate theoretical discussions and address practical implications. Reviews of important developments in the field will be particularly encouraged, since advances in a field can only result from a deep understanding of what has already been accomplished. The editors welcome contributions in which a line of reasoning is illustrated with multiple experiments or correlational studies. In addition, the editors encourage submission of new ideas for health sciences education, papers that are not necessarily empirical in nature, but describe interesting new educational tools, approaches or solutions.
- CBE-Life Sciences Education CBE—Life Sciences Education (LSE), a free, online quarterly journal, is published by the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB). The journal was launched in spring 2002 as Cell Biology Education—A Journal of Life Science Education. The ASCB changed the name of the journal in spring 2006 to better reflect the breadth of its readership and the scope of its submissions. LSE publishes peer-reviewed articles on life science education at the K–12, undergraduate, and graduate levels. The ASCB believes that learning in biology encompasses diverse fields, including math, chemistry, physics, engineering, computer science, and the interdisciplinary intersections of biology with these fields. Within biology, LSE focuses on how students are introduced to the study of life sciences, as well as approaches in cell biology, developmental biology, neuroscience, biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, genomics, bioinformatics, and proteomics.
- Chemistry education research and practice The journal for teachers, researchers and other practitioners in chemistry education. CERP is free to access thanks to sponsorship by the RSC's Education Division
- Physical Review Physics Education Research Physical Review Physics Education Research (PRPER) covers the full array of experimental and theoretical research relating to the teaching and learning of physics and astronomy. PRPER is the only fully open access journal for physics education research.
- Journal of Science Education and Technology Description: The Journal of Science Education and Technology is an international and interdisciplinary forum for both invited and contributed peer reviewed articles that advance science education at all levels. The journal publishes a broad range of papers covering theory and practice in order to facilitate future efforts of individuals and groups involved in the field. Topics fall under the categories of disciplinary (e.g., biology, chemistry, physics, mathematics, computer science, and engineering), technological (e.g., computer, video, audio, and print), or organizational (e.g., legislation, administration, implementation, and teacher enhancement). Recognizing technology's growing role in both the understanding and development of science and in the delivery of information, the journal includes technology as a component of science education.
- Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education is an international journal aimed to enhance teacher preparation and student learning in Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and related sciences such as Biophysics and Cell Biology, by promoting the world-wide dissemination of educational materials.
- American journal of physics AIP Publishing is a wholly owned not-for-profit subsidiary of the American Institute of Physics (AIP). AIP Publishing's mission is to support the charitable, scientific and educational purposes of AIP through scholarly publishing activities in the fields of the physical and related sciences on its own behalf, and on behalf of our publishing partners to help them proactively advance their missions.
- Journal of biological education Journal of Biological Education is firmly established as the authoritative voice in the world of biological education. The journal aims to bridge the gap between research and practice, providing information, ideas and opinion, in addition to critical examinations of advances in biology research and teaching. Through the coverage of policy and curriculum developments, the latest results of research into the teaching, learning and assessment of biology are brought to the fore. Special emphasis is placed on research relevant to educational practice, guided by educational realities in systems, schools, colleges and universities. Papers that are theoretically informed and methodologically rigorous are welcomed.
- The American biology teacher The American Biology Teacher, a nationally recognized journal, offers articles on recent advances in biology and life science, instructional activities for the classroom and laboratory, and interdisciplinary programs. Each issue features reviews of books, classroom technology products, and "Biology Today." Published nine times a year, the journal also covers the social and ethical implications of biology and ways to incorporate such concerns into instructional programs.
- Journal of Science Teacher Education Journal of Science Teacher Education (JSTE) is the flagship journal of the Association for Science Teacher Education. It serves as a forum for disseminating high quality research and theoretical position papers concerning preservice and inservice education of science teachers. The Journal features pragmatic articles that offer ways to improve classroom teaching and learning, professional development, and teacher recruitment and retention at pre K-16 levels.
- American educational research journal American Educational Research Journal (AERJ) has as its purpose to publish original empirical and theoretical studies and analyses in education. The editors seek to publish articles from a wide variety of academic disciplines and substantive fields. They are looking for contributions that are significant to the understanding and/or improvement of educational processes and outcomes.
- Review of Educational Research Review of Educational Research (RER) publishes critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education. Such reviews should include conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of literature and scholarly work in a field. RER encourages the submission of research relevant to education from any discipline, such as reviews of research in psychology, sociology, history, philosophy, political science, economics, computer science, statistics, anthropology, and biology, provided that the review bears on educational issues.
- Journal of Geoscience Education The Journal of Geoscience Education (JGE) is NAGT's peer-reviewed publication for geoscience education research, and serves as an international forum for research concerning the pedagogy, assessment, and philosophy of teaching and learning about the geosciences and related domains. JGE is published for the National Association of Geoscience Teachers by Taylor & Francis.
- Electronic Journal of Science Education The Electronic Journal of Science Education is a peer reviewed journal sponsored Southwestern University and Texas Christian University. It is published by Texas Christian University. EJSE publishes manuscripts relating to issues in science education/science teacher education from early childhood through the university level and informal science and environmental education. EJSE reviews original science education manuscripts that report meaningful research, present research methodology, develop theory, and explore new perspectives.
- Science Scope Science Scope is an award-winning, peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal for grade 6–8 teachers, university faculty responsible for teacher preparation, and state and district science supervisors and leaders. Science Scope is published nine times a year and is available in print and as an e-journal. Science Scope subscribers are members of the National Science Teachers who select it as their preferred journal.
Teachers and Teaching Jounals
Teachers and Teaching Journals
- Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education This journal promotes rigorous research that makes a significant contribution to advancing knowledge in teacher education across early childhood, primary, secondary, vocational education and training, and higher education. The journal editors invite for peer review theoretically informed papers - including, but not limited to, empirically grounded research - which focus on significant issues relevant to an international audience in regards to: Teacher education (including initial teacher education and ongoing professional education) of teachers internationally; The cultural, economic, political, social and/or technological dimensions and contexts of teacher education; Change, stability, reform and resistance in (and relating to) teacher education; Improving the quality and impact of research in teacher education. All research articles in this journal have undergone rigorous double-blind peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymised refereeing by two expert referees.
- European Journal of Teacher Education European Journal of Teacher Education ( EJTE ) provides an opportunity for the dissemination of educational research which investigates theory, policy and practice in teacher education at pre-service and in-service levels predominantly in the countries of Europe. Relevant articles from other countries will be considered.
- Journal of education for teaching Journal of Education for Teaching (JET) publishes original contributions on the subject of teacher education. The journal interprets ’teacher education’ in the widest sense, to include academic staff involved with, and responsible for, initial teacher education, continued professional development and the broad field of research into higher education’s contribution to education. JET welcomes scholarly discussions of new issues in the field, which would include original and rigorous analysis of the policies and practices involved in preparing individuals to work in education at any level. JET publishes both qualitative and quantitative research, the presentation of empirical research, funded research projects and review articles (if presented as a critical assessment of the material summarized). The emphasis at all times should be on the international dimension of the work presented, and the Editor would be happy to advise any author who might be unsure if their paper was appropriate for the journal.
- Hispania - A journal devoted to teaching of Spanish and Portuguese Hispania is the quarterly journal of the Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese. Hispania includes articles on pedagogy, literature, linguistics, and technology-assisted language instruction related to the Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian worlds.
- Journal of teacher education The Journal of Teacher Education provides a vital forum for considering practice, policy, and research in teacher education. It examines some of the most timely and important topics in the field, such as: New Teacher Education Standards Assessing the Outcomes of Teacher Education Preparing Teachers to Meet the Needs of Diverse Populations Teacher Education in a Global Society The Research Base for Teacher Education Accountability and Accreditation Issues Collaborating with Arts and Sciences Faculties Recruiting a More Diverse Teaching Force and Teacher Education Faculty School-based and Partnership-based Teacher Education Alternative Approaches to Teacher Education High Stakes Testing for Teachers and Students Leadership in 21st Century Schools of Education The Changing Demographics of Schools and Schooling
- Teaching and teacher education Teaching and Teacher Education is an international journal concerned primarily with teachers, teaching, or teacher education situated in an international perspective or in an international context. Teaching and Teacher Education is a multidisciplinary journal, committed to no single approach, discipline, methodology or paradigm. It is concerned with teaching and teacher education in general and devoted to all concerned with teaching.
- Teacher education and special education Teacher Education and Special Education (TESE) aims to stimulate and improve the preparation of those who will teach and otherwise work with and for children with disabilities. It encourages research on questions relating to exceptionality and to the teaching of children with disabilities. TESE encourages thoughtful consideration of the critical issues shaping the future of teacher education. The journal publishes: (a) reports of original research, (b) comprehensive evaluations of personnel preparation programs or components thereof, (c) theoretically based discussions of advancing practices in personnel preparation, and (d) interpretive or critical reviews of the literature.
- Journal of science teacher education Journal of Science Teacher Education (JSTE) is the flagship journal of the Association for Science Teacher Education. It serves as a forum for disseminating high quality research and theoretical position papers concerning preservice and inservice education of science teachers. The Journal features pragmatic articles that offer ways to improve classroom teaching and learning, professional development, and teacher recruitment and retention at pre K-16 levels.
- Science Activities Experiments and activities in all phases of science, teacher tested explorations and projects keyed for age level and degree of difficulty; news notes, computer news, book reviews and new products for the classroom teacher.
- Technology and Children Contains practical, innovative & creative articles & activities for the elementary teacher.
Education & Educational Research Journals
Education & Educational Research Journals
- American educational research journal American Educational Research Journal (AERJ) has as its purpose to publish original empirical and theoretical studies and analyses in education. The editors seek to publish articles from a wide variety of academic disciplines and substantive fields. They are looking for contributions that are significant to the understanding and/or improvement of educational processes and outcomes.
- Review of Educational Research Review of Educational Research (RER) publishes critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education. Such reviews should include conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of literature and scholarly work in a field. RER encourages the submission of research relevant to education from any discipline, such as reviews of research in psychology, sociology, history, philosophy, political science, economics, computer science, statistics, anthropology, and biology, provided that the review bears on educational issues.
- The Internet and higher education The Internet and Higher Education, a is quarterly journal devoted to addressing contemporary issues and future developments related to online learning, teaching, and administration on the Internet in post-secondary settings. It is a peer-reviewed journal intended to be a vehicle for scholarly presentation and dissemination of contributions, theoretical and applied, significantly addressing innovative deployments of Internet technology in instruction and reporting on research to demonstrate the effects of the Internet and information technology (IT) on instruction in various contexts in higher education. The journal is international and interdisciplinary, inviting contributions from across the globe and from various academic disciplines.
- Educational Research Review Educational Research Review is an international journal addressed to researchers and various agencies interested in the review of studies and theoretical papers in education at any level. The journal accepts high quality articles that are solving educational research problems by using a review approach. This may include thematic or methodological reviews, or meta-analyses. The journal does not limit its scope to any age range. The journal invites articles on the broad range of settings in which people learn and are educated (school settings, corporate training, formal or informal settings, etc.). Empirical studies or theoretical contributions that do not include a critical review analysis are not accepted.
- Computers & Education Computers & Education aims to increase knowledge and understanding of ways in which digital technology can enhance education, through the publication of high quality research, which extends theory and practice. The Editors welcome research papers on the pedagogical uses of digital technology, where the focus is broad enough to be of interest to a wider education community.
- Educational psychologist The scholarly essays, reviews, critiques, and theoretical and conceptual articles featured in this exceptional journal contribute to understanding issues, problems, and research concerning all aspects of educational psychology. From meta-analyses of studies probing the effectiveness of teaching methods to historical examinations of textbook standards, the journal provides insightful explorations of new educational concepts and accepted educational practices. The journal, however, does not publish articles whose primary purpose is to report the methods and results of an empirical study.
- Educational Researcher Educational Researcher (ER) is published nine times per year and is received by all members of AERA. It contains scholarly articles of general significance to the educational research community from a wide range of disciplines. ER's Features section publishes articles that report, synthesize, or analyze scholarly inquiry, focusing on manuscripts that examine the significance of research in education and developments important to the field of educational research.
- Learning and instruction As an international, multi-disciplinary, peer-refereed journal, Learning and Instruction provides a platform for the publication of the most advanced scientific research in the areas of learning, development, instruction and teaching. The journal welcomes original empirical investigations. The papers may represent a variety of theoretical perspectives and different methodological approaches. They may refer to any age level, from infants to adults and to a diversity of learning and instructional settings, from laboratory experiments to field studies. The major criteria in the review and the selection process concern the significance of the contribution to the area of learning and instruction.
- Metacognition and learning The journal "Metacognition and Learning" addresses various components of metacognition, such as metacognitive awareness, experiences, knowledge, and executive skills. Moreover, both general metacognition as well as domain-specific metacognitions in various task domains (mathematics, physics, reading, writing etc.) are considered. Papers may address fundamental theoretical issues, measurement issues regarding both quantitative and qualitative methods, as well as empirical studies about individual differences in metacognition, relations with other learner characteristics and learning strategies, developmental issues, the training of metacognition components in learning, and the teacher’s role in metacognition training. Submitted papers are judged on theoretical relevance, methodological thoroughness, and appeal to an international audience. The journal aims for a high academic standard with relevance to the field of educational practices.
- Studies in Science Education The central aim of Studies in Science Education is to publish review articles of the highest quality which provide analytical syntheses of research into key topics and issues in science education. In addressing this aim, the Editor and Editorial Advisory Board, are guided by a commitment to: maintaining and developing the highest standards of scholarship associated with the journal; publishing articles from as wide a range of authors as possible, in relation both to professional background and country of origin; publishing articles which serve both to consolidate and reflect upon existing fields of study and to promote new areas for research activity. Studies in Science Education will be of interest to all those involved in science education including: science education researchers, doctoral and masters students; science teachers at elementary, high school and university levels; science education policy makers; science education curriculum developers and text book writers. Articles featured in Studies in Science Education have been made available either following invitation from the Editor or through potential contributors offering pieces. Given the substantial nature of the review articles, the Editor is willing to give informal feedback on the suitability of proposals though all contributions, whether invited or not, are subject to full peer review. A limited number of books of special interest and concern to those involved in science education are normally reviewed in each volume.
- International journal of computer-supported collaborative learning An official publication of the International Society of the Learning Sciences, the International Journal of Computer-Supported Collaborative Learning (IJCSCL) fosters a deep understanding of the nature, theory, and practice of computer-supported collaborative learning (CSCL). The journal serves as a forum for experts from such disciplines as education, computer science, information technology, psychology, communications, linguistics, anthropology, sociology, and business. Articles investigate how to design the technological settings for collaboration and how people learn in the context of collaborative activity. Examining the use of CSCL in education, business, and society, IJCSCL also investigates the psychological, social, and technological impact of CSCL on individuals, groups, and society. The journal publishes original empirical investigations, extensions of previous work, critical and integrative theoretical and methodological contributions, and synthetic reviews.
- Journal of Research in Science Teaching Journal of Research in Science Teaching, the official journal of NARST: A Worldwide Organization for Improving Science Teaching and Learning Through Research, publishes reports for science education researchers and practitioners on issues of science teaching and learning and science education policy. Scholarly manuscripts within the domain of the Journal of Research in Science Teaching include, but are not limited to, investigations employing qualitative, ethnographic, historical, survey, philosophical, case study research, quantitative, experimental, quasi-experimental, data mining, and data analytics approaches; position papers; policy perspectives; critical reviews of the literature; and comments and criticism.
- Journal of teacher education The mission of the Journal of Teacher Education, the flagship journal of AACTE, is to serve as a research forum for a diverse group of scholars invested in the preparation and continued support of teachers who can have a significant voice in discussions and decision-making. Issues covered include preparing teachers to effectively address the needs of marginalized youth; program design and impact; local and national policy; and accountability.
- Learning, media & technology Learning, Media and Technology aims to stimulate debate on digital media, digital technology and digital cultures in education. The journal seeks to include submissions that take a critical approach towards all aspects of education and learning, digital media and digital technology - primarily from the perspective of the social sciences, humanities and arts. The journal has a long heritage in the areas of media education, media and cultural studies, film and television, communications studies, design studies and general education studies.
- Science Education Science Education publishes original articles on the latest issues and trends occurring internationally in science curriculum, instruction, learning, policy and preparation of science teachers with the aim to advance our knowledge of science education theory and practice. In addition to original articles, the journal features the following special sections: Learning : consisting of theoretical and empirical research studies on learning of science. We invite manuscripts that investigate learning and its change and growth from various lenses, including psychological, social, cognitive, sociohistorical, and affective. Studies examining the relationship of learning to teaching, the science knowledge and practices, the learners themselves, and the contexts (social, political, physical, ideological, institutional, epistemological, and cultural) are similarly welcome.
- Journal of the learning sciences Journal of the Learning Sciences (JLS) is one of the two official journals of the International Society of the Learning Sciences ( www.isls.org). JLS provides a multidisciplinary forum for research on education and learning that informs theories of how people learn and the design of learning environments. It publishes research that elucidates processes of learning, and the ways in which technologies, instructional practices, and learning environments can be designed to support learning in different contexts.
- School Science and Mathematics School Science and Mathematics, founded in 1901, is an international journal that publishes research on issues, concerns, and lessons within and between the disciplines of science and mathematics in the classroom.
- CITE Journal Contemporary issues in technology and teacher education Established in 2000, Contemporary Issues in Technology and Teacher Education (CITE Journal) is an open-access, peer-reviewed publication of the Society for Information Technology and Teacher Education (SITE) and is co-sponsored by four other teacher education associations. It is an interactive electronic journal, capable of incorporating into its articles video, sound, animated images, and simulations, as well as ongoing dialog about issues that advance the field.
- Learning Environments Research Learning Environments Research builds our understanding of pre-primary, primary, high school, college and university, and lifelong learning environments irrespective of subject area. Apart from classroom and school environments, the journal devotes special attention to out-of-school learning environments such as the home, science centers, and television. New learning environments created by information technology are also explored. This journal interprets "learning environment" as the social, physical, psychological, and pedagogical contexts in which learning occurs and which affect student achievement and attitudes. Original academic studies include theoretical reflections, quantitative and qualitative research, critical and integrative literature reviews and meta-analyses, methodological issues, and development and validation of assessment instruments. In addition, the journal features reviews of books and evaluation instruments.