WGSS 308- Gender, Sex and the Law: Home
Sources for WGSS 308 by Legal Librarian
Gender, Sex and the Law
This guide is for WGSS 308 to help focus on the sources needed. Note the sources crossed disciplines of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Law or Legal information and Political Policy.
Article Sources
-
Westlaw Full-text to federal and state cases, statutes, regulations and administrative codes, as well as international law, law encyclopedias, and law reviews. Business news and company legal tax filing information.
-
Politics Database A collective database on government issue (PAIS: Public Affairs Information Services), politics (WPSA: Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) and policy (Policy File Index) that covers political science since 1972.
-
Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
-
SocINDEX Full Text Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
-
CQ Researcher Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
-
GenderWatch 40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present.Allows up to 2 simultaneous users.
-
Global Newsstream U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
Class Worksheet
Sources beyond Articles
-
Book / Reports On Women - Legal Issues Collection of book chapters on legal issues concerning women
-
Opposing Viewpoints Concerning Women Legal Issues Opinions on women legal topics
-
Women and Justice Collection from Legal Information Institute Web site leading to primary materials that deal with women and the law.
Primary Sources
-
Women and Social Movements Library Contains over 5,100 documents and 175,000 pages of full-text documents that focus on U.S. women’s history from 1600-2000. Includes documents related to the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, Woman Suffrage Movement, Civil Rights Movement, and others. Includes Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000; Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present; Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820; and Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919 - 2019
-
Women’s Studies Archive Global archive of primary sources on the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives. Includes records from Planned Parenthood, the Malthusian League, the Women Pioneers and Women Missionaries collections, the Women’s Labor League and Trade Union League collections, and others.
-
Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers, Part I: 1912-1990 American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) defenses freedoms of all citizens. These primary source papers cover 1912-1990 focusing on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
-
Making of Modern Law: American Civil Liberties Union Papers, Part II: Southern Regional Office files This unique manuscript collection offers digital access to the papers of the Southern Regional Office of the American Civil Liberties Union, primarily in the period 1945 to 1990. The collection has never been scanned or filmed before, and covers topics including school segregation; local challenges to busing; the suppression of voting rights; student anti-war protest; and legal cases relating to women, sexism, and overtime pay. The archive consists of memos, court documents, amicus briefs, publications, testimony, administrative files, personnel records, meeting minutes, and files related to the history of the Southern Regional Office.
