Though the University Library does focus much of its attention on Academic materials, we have many books that are literature: novels, poetry, plays.
- Books you find "in the stacks" - on the bookshelves on Library Floors 1 - 4 - can be checked out for the whole semester.
- Check books out on the 1st Floor using your Beach ID.
Enjoy browsing some of these areas of your Library!
- Science Fiction and Fantasy Books in the Masback Collection
- 3rd Floor of the Library, the Masback Collection is organized by author's last name and the books all face the study area.
- Mystery and Thriller books in the Mystery Collection
- 2nd Floor of the Library. Enter the stacks from the study area, turn right. The Mystery Collection along the long wall; it's organized by author's last name
- Current, popular books in the Critics Choice Collection
- 1st Floor of the Library, go towards the Caffeine Lab. Critics Choice books are located on the back wall of the elevators
- Graphic Novels
- 2nd Floor of the Library. Enter the stacks from the study area, turn left. The Graphic Novel collection is alongside the far short wall.
- YA/Children's Books
- The Children's Collection, which includes MANY YA novels, is in its own area on the 2nd Floor. From the elevator, turn right.
- Find Stories in the Stacks!
- Folklore in GR
- English Literature in PR
- American Literature in PS
- Literature in Languages other than English in PA - PQ, and PT (Romance Languages: PC)
How do you find a book in the regular stacks?
Your University Library uses the Library of Congress cataloging system. It's a combination of Letters + Numbers.
Looking for a book with a particular theme or in a particular language?
- Use OneSearch and choose Books & Media CSULB from the dropdown Everything search.
- Need help using OneSearch? Check out this video: Searching CSULB's OneSearch
