Research Guides: MGMT 647: Seminar in Strategic Management: Market Share Data

Market Share Data

Market share is the percentage of sales (by value or volume) that a brand or company has for a specific product or category.

Note: Market share calculations can range from specific products (i.e. Vanilla flavored ready-to-drink iced coffee) to extremely broad industries (i.e. food and beverage). Be sure you are aware of which industry segment(s) a report includes.

Below is an image from IBIS World (an industry database) that shows the market share of the Car and Automobile Manufacturing Industry report:

Find Market Share Data

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Limited to 30 downloads per session. IBISWorld Industry Market Research reports covers about 680 U.S. industries written at the 5-digit level of NAICS. Each report contains key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, performance and outlook. These reports are written by industry specialists. Each report is updated every 4 months.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market Share Reporter This link opens in a new window Market Share Reporter offers an overview of companies, products and services. It is arranged by four-digit SIC code. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/ products along with their market share. We have access to multiple years with the ability to extract, download and analyze the content in a spreadsheet.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Business Source Premier contains coverage for more than 2,300 journals covering a wide range of business topics. In addition, the databases includes access to company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
MarketResearch.com This link opens in a new window Full-text service of market research reports on many topics. Includes more than 40,000 market intelligence publications from 350 publishers worldwide.
- This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window Reports that provide an aggregate of a variety of data, mainly statistics. Search for data by industry, political issue, consumerism, companies or countries. The data reports provide sourcing information.
- This link opens in a new window