Research Guides: NUTR 337 Introduction to Nutrition Research Methods: Find Articles

MeSH

PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window

When should you use MeSH?

Test your keywords in the recommended databases

Review the results list
Are your keywords included in the titles?
If not, you should search MeSH to determine what keyword(s) to use

Here's how:

Methodology & Population characteristics

Filter by Methodology and Population Characteristics

Depending on the database you are using you may be able to filter your results by Methodology, and population characteristics such as Age or Gender

PubMed

Hover your cursor over the flashing buttons to learn about the best practices for searching PubMed

PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window

PubMed uses automat term mapping - using the AND operator turns off this feautre and may exclude relevant results. Hover your cursor over the flashing to learn more.

Nutrition and Food Sciences Database

Database Thinglink images and video tutorials

The following images and video tutorials highlight basic search strategies for just a few of the highly recommended databases to use for your research.

Nutrition and Food Sciences Database

Hover your cursor over the flashing bluearrows to learn more

Nutrition and Food Science Database Video Tutorial

Nutrition and Food Sciences Database This link opens in a new window Covers the whole food chain from the raw ingredients to the physiological and health effects of nutrients. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Web of Science

Web of Science

Hover your cursor over the flashing greenarrows to learn more

Web of Science Video Tutorial

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect

Hover your cursor over the flashing orangearrows to learn more

ScienceDirect Video Tutorial

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Databases

Link to Databases by Subject

PubMed@CSULB This link opens in a new window Provides access to MEDLINE, Pre-MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and molecular biology databases. If articles have no free full text use Get It@CSULB. Medline covers 1940's to present, updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nutrition and Food Sciences Database This link opens in a new window Covers the whole food chain from the raw ingredients to the physiological and health effects of nutrients. Key subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, food security, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nutrition Abstracts - Human and Experimental This link opens in a new window NARA covers the latest information on all issues related to food and health and features all aspects of human nutrition, including: techniques, foods, physiology and biochemistry, nutrition and health, and clinical nutrition. Covers: 1994- . Updated weekly.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full text of Elsevier's journals, covering sciences, health, and social sciences since 1995 as well as indexing of other publisher's journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Cited Reference & Bibliographic Searching

Cited Reference Searching

Enhance your research with citation-linking tools for in-depth topic exploration. Utilize Web of Science for locating articles citing known works and discover further through the "Times Cited" feature. Expand your search with Google Scholar's citation-linking for finding articles that cite your source. Dive deeper into the citation network to connect with referenced works and authors, ensuring a comprehensive understanding of your subject area.

Watch the Videos Below to Learn How

Web of Science - How to do a Cited Reference Search

Google Scholar Citation Linking

Evaluate & Improve Search Results

Refining Your Search Results: Evaluate and Improve

This section merges critical evaluation techniques with strategies for improving your searches, guiding you towards more relevant, high-quality information. Whether you're encountering too many results or too few, the tips below will help you adjust your search to better align with your research needs. Learn how to fine-tune your search results to ensure they align closely with your research needs!

Evaluate Your Search Results:

When You Have Too Many Results:

Add More Specific Keywords: Narrow your search with additional, specific terms related to your topic.
Apply More Filters: Refine your results by using filters like publication date, material type, and subject/topic/category.

When You Have Too Few Results:

Reduce Keywords: Limit the number of keywords to broaden your search scope.
Use Less Specific Keywords: General terms can help uncover more results.
Try Different Databases: Different platforms may offer varied results based on their collection scope.
Adjust Boolean Operators: Utilize more "OR" operators between synonyms to include a wider range of terms and fewer "AND" operators to avoid overly restricting your search.

When You Have Too Many Results	When You Have Too Few Results
To reduce the number of results you are getting: Add additional keywords to your search Use more specific keyword to describe the topic Apply Filters: Publication Date Material Type Subject, Topic, Category Filters	To increase the number of results you are getting: Reduce the the number of keywords Use less specific keywords to describe the topic Try a different database Use more OR operators between synonyms Use fewer AND's between keywords

When You Have Too Many Results

When You Have Too Few Results

To reduce the number of results you are getting:

Add additional keywords to your search
Use more specific keyword to describe the topic
Apply Filters:
- Publication Date
- Material Type
- Subject, Topic, Category Filters

To increase the number of results you are getting:

Reduce the the number of keywords
Use less specific keywords to describe the topic
Try a different database
Use more OR operators between synonyms
Use fewer AND's between keywords

Improve Your Search Results:

Revisit Keywords and Parameters: Analyze your initial search results. If necessary, refine your approach by incorporating additional, more precise keywords.
Leverage Author-Supplied Keywords: Review keywords provided by authors in relevant articles to discover new search terms.
Consider Controlled Vocabulary: Use standardized terms from controlled vocabularies (e.g., MeSH in PubMed) to target your search more effectively.

Get the Full-text

Get the Full-Text of Articles

Finding the full text of articles is an essential step in your research journey. Here you will see strategies and tools to access the full-text of the articles you need in you research process.

1) GetIt@CSULB Link

2) Find the pdf linked in the database

3) Request Article(s)

When the full-text of an article isn't available in OneSearch, click 'GET IT' for options. CSU+ is your primary choice for accessing items not held by CSULB. For articles beyond our collection, use the provided link to request them through Interlibrary Loan services, ensuring a straightforward process to obtain the resources you need. Learn more about the interlibrary loan services here.