Research Guides: CAFF Consumer Affairs Course Guides &amp; Subject Guide: CAFF 305

CAFF 305

What Happens in Vegas…Consumer Behavior and the Casino Gaming Industry

Consumer Behavior in the Casino Gambling Industry Research:

Start Broadly: Begin with a broad search to find articles about consumer behavior in the casino gambling industry.
Search Strategy: First, try OneSearch.
Sample Search: For example, search "gambling AND "game preference" to find materials related to how Consumer behavior varies based on their game preference.
Use Filters: After searching, use the filters on the left side, especially the Publication Date and Subject filters. Subject filter helps identify relevant resources.
Search ABI/Inform Complete Database (linked below) for Trade Journal articles.
- Trade journals are industry publications that highlight topics of interest to marketers and business leaders.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use to find trade journals. Covers business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Consists of ABI (Global, Archives, Images, Trade and Industry), Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American and EIU.

Additional Resources for Gambling Research

To get started with your research, try the following databases in addition to OneSearch on the Library home page.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A highly recommended comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text databases. Includes monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide range of business topics, including company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analyses.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reports that provide an aggregate of a variety of data, mainly statistics. Search for data by industry, political issue, consumerism, companies, or countries, The data reports provide sourcing information.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Each report contains key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, performance, and outlook.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports including information on society and culture, communications, travel, trade, business, money and banking, country data and maps.
ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new window ReferenceUSA is a database providing access to information on over 25 million businesses and more than 262 million consumers. Business listings include such data as company names, phone numbers, complete addresses, key executive names, SIC Codes, employee size, sales volume, geo-codes for mapping, contact details, franchise and brand information, news, liens, judgments and bankruptcies, and credit rating scores.
- This link opens in a new window
EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of topics including accounting, business cycles, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, economic theory, government regulations, international economics, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and much more.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research on the psychology of consumers
SocINDEX Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers such topics including abortion, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociology, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers current events and "hot" issues in the news. Each weekly issue provides a summary of the issue plus the pros-cons, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
iPOLL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Public opinion poll questions

CAFF Consumer Affairs Course Guides & Subject Guide

Librarian

Consumer Behavior in the Casino Gambling Industry Research:

Additional Resources for Gambling Research