Online Reference Materials
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowSome Print Reference Materials
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels by
Food labels can be daunting in a world where many people need to make dietary adjustments or are concerned about additives and chemicals in food. In addition, food is often labelled in a way that may be confusing or misleading, such as a product being labelled as â??Natural.â?? Consumers will benefit from the Gale Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Food Labels, which explains the often confusing (and sometimes contradictory) language and measurements on food labels and in food marketing, and provides information in a more reader-friendly way than an FDA report can. This product will help consumers understand what labels and ingredients mean to their overall nutritional and food-safety needs. It will also address new FDA labelling guidelines that are under discussion and slated for implementation in the near future. Tables and charts of acceptable levels of many food additives, chemicals, and nutritional levels in foods will add value to this product.
Encyclopedia of Food and Color Additives by
THE FIRST SOURCE TO CONTAIN COMPLETE PROFILES OF 2,500 FOOD ADDITIVES AND INGREDIENTS... This 3-volume set provides all the answers to technical, legal, and regulatory questions in clear, nontechnical language. Information once scattered among the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), other government and technical publications, or only available through the Freedom of Information Act, is made easily accessible in the Encyclopedia of Food and Color Additives. You will find descriptions of all substances listed in the Everything Added to Food in the U.S. (EAFUS) database, including food additive categories and some substances not considered to be "additives," such as corn oil. The Encyclopedia avoids the hazard of providing too much or too little information with a concise, understandable description of each substance. There is no need to waste time wading through paragraphs of unrelated text. All data is clearly organized in alphabetical or numerical order, so even with a minimal amount of knowledge about any additive, you can locate it instantly. The Encyclopedia provides you with a quick, understandable description of what each additive is and what it does, where it comes from, when its use might be limited, and how it is manufactured and used. The Encyclopedia of Food and Color Additives sorts through the technical language used in the laboratory or factory, the arcane terms used by regulatory managers, and the legalese used by attorneys, providing all the essentials for everyone involved with food additives. Consultants, lawyers, food and tobacco scientists and technicians, toxicologists, and food regulators will all benefit from the detailed, well-organized descriptions found in this one-stop source.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology, 4 Volume Set by 
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 27 Volume Set by
Reviews from the previous edition: "The most indispensable reference in the English language on all aspects of chemical technology... the best reference of its kind". --Chemical Engineering News, 1992 "Overall, ECT is well written and cleanly edited, and no library claiming to be a useful resource for chemical engineering professionals should be without it." --Nicholas Basta, Chemical Engineering, December 1992 The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949. The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information. Presents the versatile field of chemical technology through articles on properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemical substances and materials, industrial processes and unit operations, along with scientific principles and insights into current research related to the field Addresses such aspects as economic, health and safety factors, standards, specifications and environmental concerns Includes over 1,300 articles Updated regularly to reflect changes and developments in the field (50-60 new or updated articles added each year) Articles are citable and peer reviewed and include bibliography of cited references as well as suggested reading Previous versions of articles are archived for historical reference The Smart Article functionalities were added in 2014, to enable searching for structures and reactions through to the title and across related products, such as journals, databases, and other reference works The last print edition of Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia published between 2004 and 2007 and is available as a comprehensive 27-Volume Set. Since then, a concise edition (2007) and four thematic volumes (2007-2013) on the Environment, Food and Feed Technology, Separation Technology and Cosmetics, have been published and are available in print and e-book formats. 27 Volumes Updating: wileyonlinelibrary.com/ref/kirk
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by
Reviews from the previous edition: "The most indispensable reference in the English language on all aspects of chemical technology...the best reference of its kind". --Chemical Engineering News, 1992 "Overall, ECT is well written and cleanly edited, and no library claiming to be a useful resource for chemical engineering professionals should be without it." --Nicholas Basta, Chemical Engineering, December 1992 The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949. The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the wide field of chemical technology, whilst uniquely providing the necessary perspective and insight into pertinent aspects, rather than merely presenting information. Presents the versatile field of chemical technology through articles on properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemical substances and materials, industrial processes and unit operations, along with scientific principles and insights into current research related to the field Addresses such aspects as economic, health and safety factors, standards, specifications and environmental concerns Includes over 1,300 articles Updated regularly to reflect changes and developments in the field (50-60 new or updated articles added each year) Articles are citable and peer reviewed and include bibliography of cited references as well as suggested reading Previous versions of articles are archived for historical reference The Smart Article functionalities were added in 2014, to enable searching for structures and reactions through to the title and across related products, such as journals, databases, and other reference works The last print edition of Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia published between 2004 and 2007 and is available as a comprehensive 27-Volume Set. Since then, a concise edition (2007) and four thematic volumes (2007-2013) on the Environment, Food and Feed Technology, Separation Technology and Cosmetics, have been published and are available in print and e-book formats 27 Volumes Updating wileyonlinelibrary.com/ref/kirk
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry by
89 years of expertise in applied and industrial chemistry - Ullmann's is back in print! Generations of chemists and engineers have relied on the well structured and trusted information from Ullmann's Encyclopedia - and you still can count on Ullmann's with the current 6th edition in print. Ullmann's is a synonym for the world's most current and trustworthy knowledge in everything that relates to the chemical industry, be it processes, chemicals, products, analytical chemistry, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology..........you name it, Ullmann's has it - well over 800 articles on over 30 000 printed pages in 40 volumes. Organized in alphabetical order, the chapters are easy to read and excellent starting points to introduce you to any topic. Over 15 000 tables and 25 000 figures (some of them in color) make it easy for you to quickly find what you are looking for. Countless literature and patent references guide you to the relevant and accessible primary literature. Numerous cross-references point you to relevant chapters in the same context and a well organized index volume enables searching for keywords. Finding what you need is very simple indeed and you won't have to ask for a user's manual for this massive work! Supervised by an internationally acclaimed advisory board, the articles are written by over 3000 international experts from industry and universities, thoroughly edited to uniform style and layout in an in-house office. All figures are re-drawn to give a maximum of clarity and uniformity in style. Compared to the prior edition, almost 60% of the material has either been newly written or thoroughly updated. The rest has been checked for validity and newer references have been added throughout.
