Research Guides: Course Guides for Communication Studies: COMM301

Rhetorical Analysis Articles

Communication Source This link opens in a new window Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. Originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Movies, Television, Books

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Citations to scholarly works on literatures, languages, linguistics, folklore, literary theory, dramatic arts, and printing history since the 5th century CE. Also includes rhetoric and teaching practices. Covers 1926 to present, updated ten times yearly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides the full-text electronic versions of more than 200 scholarly journals. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Music research

Music Index This link opens in a new window Contains data from over 800 international music periodicals from over 40 countries in 22 languages. It covers all styles and genres of music. Included are book reviews, obituaries, news and articles about music, musicians and the music industry. Coverage: 1976 - current. Note: 1949-1993 is available in print.
- This link opens in a new window
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window Books, journals, conference papers, dissertations, book chapters, bibliographies, catalogs, media materials, and all forms of scholarly communication related to music. Coverage: 1967 to present. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Social Relevance & Gender

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archive of scholarly journals cover to cover. Interdisciplinary coverage of journals back to the first issue through to the last few years. Also includes over 2 million images originally from Artstor.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Provides the full-text electronic versions of more than 200 scholarly journals. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window 40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present.GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Sometimes Useful for social relevance

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window Useful for anything related to gangs or police
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SPORT Discus This link opens in a new window Use this for any research related to sports, broadcast sports, advertising, films, athletes etc.
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Politics Database This link opens in a new window A collective database on government issue (PAIS: Public Affairs Information Services), politics (WPSA: Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) and policy (Policy File Index) that covers political science since 1972.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Occasionally your research for social relevance will take you to databases that are primarily quantitative however they will have analysis that can help you with framing the context of your artifact

Course Guides for Communication Studies: COMM301

Rhetorical Analysis Articles

Movies, Television, Books

Music research

Social Relevance & Gender

Sometimes Useful for social relevance

Slide Presentation

Artifact

Communication Studies Questions?

useful links

Find Books (Print and Electronic)