Research Guides: Course Guides for Communication Studies: COMM646

Find Tests and Measures

Communication Source Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. Originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Many are full-text, others can be requested through ILL. CSULB theses published since 1997 are available full text, though recent CSULB theses (within the last six months) may not be available online yet. Coverage: 1637 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, and first published in 1938 by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing.
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycTests PsycTESTS® is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
- This link opens in a new window

Internet sources for tests and measures

ETS Test Link The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation of such materials in the world.
Communication Research Measures (McCroskey) The late James McCroskey compiled a list of communication measures that are free to use for educational purposes on his site. There are over 30 items related to communication studies.

Find Books

OneSearch Advanced Search

useful links

Reference List: Basic Rules-APA from OWL at Purdue
Workshops Calendar
Find out which workshops are being offered for the academic year.

Slide Presentation

Communication Measures

Communication research measures II : a sourcebook by R. Rubin
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0805851321
This book provides different communication measures ideal for Comm 307
Gender roles: a handbook of tests and measures by Carole A. Beere
Call Number: HM253 .B43 1990
ISBN: 0313262780
Publication Date: 1990-03-20
Communication Research Measures by Howard E. Sypher; Philip Palmgreen; Alan M. Rubin (Contribution by); Rebecca B. Rubin; Michael Beatty (Contribution by); Sue DeWine (Contribution by)
Call Number: P91.3 .C62 2004
ISBN: 0805852433
Publication Date: 2004-05-15

Communication Theory

A First Look at Communication Theory
This lists relevant communication theories for COMM 306 look at this to figure out what you want to use for your papers