Research Guides: Course Guides for Communication Studies: COMM442

Voters: Demographics, voting behavior, persuasion

PollingReport.com by Polling Report National and International opinions about a variety of contemporary topics
US Census Bureau: Voting This gives voting profiles of states and divides by age and income and a variety of other charts

APA PsycINFO For voting behavior and motivation by race, religion etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

State Politics: Battleground states and environmental scanning

2018 Election from CNNPolitics

Global Newsstream U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present Provides information on issues in particular cities or among ethnic groups
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Speeches: Issues, Opposing viewpoints

Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alt-PressWatch, 1970-present Articles from independent or alternative newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletters that are not mainstream media viewpoints or perspectives. Some coverage back to 1970.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication Source Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. Originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints A collection of viewpoints from various sources on social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, endangered species, to name a few. Includes relevant articles, encyclopedia entries and opinions for each topic covered.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window