Research Guides: Journalism & Public Relations: Bilingual Magazine Reporting and Production

Diversity and Spanish Style Guides

This guide, a project of the Center for Integration and Improvement of Journalism at San Francisco State University, has more than 700 entries pulled together from more than two dozen style guides, journalism organizations and other resources.

LGBTQ Guide for Spanish Language Media

Complied by the National LGBTQ Task Force, NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists, and the National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) for journalists reporting on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) people.

Spanish Language Style Guides

Developed by the U.S. General Services Administration Office of Strategic Communication, and reviewed by the North American Academy of the Spanish Language. Includes grammar, frequently mistranslated terms and tech terminology.

Style Guide to Writing about Transgender People

Scholarly and Primary Sources on Latin American and Latino Issues

Chicano Database Over 42,000 bibliographic citations on the Chicano and Latino experience in the United States. All subject areas, includes books, Chicano journals, mainstream journals, anthologies of all types, and other forms of publication. 1965 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
Dialnet Database including digitized texts of thousands of articles from Spanish periodicals. It includes all the journals published by the Universidad Complutense.
- This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 Hundreds of Spanish-language newspaper articles from 1808 to 1980, with some articles also appearing in English.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over many links to the full-text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
- This link opens in a new window
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 Primary sources covering 20th-century human migration, including firsthand accounts of post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States, the first Gulf War and more. Sources include radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, and government documents gathered daily by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. It covers issues such as xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, and the treatment of refugees.
- This link opens in a new window
LatAm-Estudios Texto Completo Scholarly journal articles published by universities and institutes in South and Central Latin America, the Caribbean, and Mexico . Majority of the articles are in Spanish but also includes English and Portuguese. Topics include finance, literature, environment, history, law and culture.
- This link opens in a new window
Latin America in Video Original-language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The videos were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as human rights, violence, immigration, illiteracy, popular culture, and political history. The first of its kind, the collection’s materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Latino American Experience The Latino American Experience contains over 200 full-text titles from encyclopedias and biographies, primary documents in English and Spanish, and images documenting the Latino American experience. The database includes treaties, speeches, timelines, classroom lesson plans, and access to vetted websites.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Latino Literature Latino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Latino and Latina writers working in the United States. Covers Nineteenth century to the present, an archive it is not updated.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Journalism & Public Relations

Local Spanish-Language News

Diversity and Spanish Style Guides

Scholarly and Primary Sources on Latin American and Latino Issues

Latino-Issues Organizations & Data