Research Guides: SLP 696 Research Methods Applied &amp; Basic: Data

Types of Data

Research studies can use either

Filter search results by Data Type in psycINFO

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Primary Data Methods

Primary Data Methods - U.S. National Library of Medicine Primary data methods involve collection of original data, ranging from more scientifically rigorous approaches for determining the causal effect of health technologies, such as randomized controlled trials (RCTs), to less rigorous ones, such as case series. These study designs can be described and categorized based on multiple attributes or dimensions, e.g.: Comparative vs. non-comparative Separate (i.e., external) control group vs. no separate (i.e., internal) control group Participants (study populations /groups) defined by a health outcome vs. by having been exposed to, or received or been assigned, an intervention Prospective vs. retrospective Interventional vs. observational Experimental vs. non-experimental Random assignment vs. non-random assignment of patients to treatment and control groups

Find Data Sets

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window A summary of statistics on the United States social, political, and economy. Majority of the data is over time. The data tables provide source information for further research.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

ASHA American Speech-Language Hearing Association
Applications (Apps) for Speech-Language Pathology Practice
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Center for Health Statistics. Use the summary of NCHS Surveys and Data Collection systems to identify and access relevant datasets
Surveys and Data Collection Systems
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Surveys and data collection systems
Fast Stats
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Fast Stats - statistics by topic
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) Web Tutorials
Pew Research Center
PEW Social and Demographic Trends
Bilinguistics Better Speech Therapy
Speech Therapy Data Collection – 3 tips to make it easier
The Speech Bubble SLP
Therapy topics, newsletter (sign-up), free resources, etc... Blog
SLP Now
The Best Way to Collect Speech Therapy Data
SLP Tool Kit
Data collection in speech therapy
Speech Buddies
Using an iPad for Data Collection in Speech Therapy
Speech and Language Kids
8 Data Collection Ideas for Speech Therapists