Research Guides: Children's Literature: Children's Literature

Find Children's Lit at CSULB
Find Info ABOUT Children's Lit

Find books using the advanced search feature of OneSearch and select Books & Media (CSULB), then enter "CSULB children's collection", and then enter your keywords in the second box and click search:

Onesearch screen with arrows to "CSULB Books and Media", box to write "csulb childrens books," empty box for keywords and the Search button

This will limit your search to the books found in our Children's Collection.

OneSearch - Children's Collection Only

Also, search DAWCL or ALSC Awards Shelf for award winning children's book titles and then use our OneSearch to see if we have them:

Article Databases

Search for articles ABOUT children's literature, written by teachers, librarians and university professors

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management as far back as the mid-1960s.
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Sign up for a 7 day free trial to use this database.

Children's Literature Journals

These journals publishing research about children's literature and child development are available free on the web.

Black History Month - February

Which Way Freedom?

Juneteenth

Courage Has No Color

March Book 3

Printz Winner 2017

Black Frontiers

Women in Black History

28 Days

Women's History Month - March

Ten Days a Madwoman

Miss Mary Reporting

Radioactive!

Women in Science

Hillary Rodham Clinton

Fight Like a Girl

Women in Black History

Florence Nightingale

Bold Women in California History

Shark Lady

Rabble Rousers

Daring Pirate Women

Children's Literature Associations

Fun Websites

The Nerdy Book Club

Looking for that old book you loved?

Oftentimes we remember a story fondly but can't remember the title or author. This seems to happen frequently with children's books we remember having been read to us when we were little. Try these ideas to find the titles and relive the memories!