Research Guides: Sociology Course Guides: SOC 656

Sociology Research

Sociological Abstracts Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX Full Text Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Also Useful

Specialized databases in fields related to Sociology.

ABI/INFORM Complete A comprehensive business database with over 3,200 journals covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. It consists of: ABI Global, ABI Archive, ABI Images, ABI Trade and Industry, Dateline, Business Dissertations, Hoovers, Oxford Research, Wall Street Journal, SnapShots North American, and EIU. Coverage: 1971 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts in Social Gerontology Current Literature on Aging sponsored by The National Council on the Aging, Inc. (NCOA), a private nonprofit organization which serves as a resource for information, research, training, technical assistance, advocacy, and leadership on aging. Founded in 1950 NCOA has a broad national membership of professionals, volunteers, and organizations that work with, for, and on behalf of older persons. Updated: Quarterly
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource Full-text archive and indexing of all American Anthropological Association (AAA) published journals, newsletters, and bulletins.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archives of Sexuality and Gender The full-text documents in the Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture include material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups since 1940. They present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database Indexes over 1200 scholarly journals, primarily in English, covering topics in the social sciences & humanities. Book reviews are included. Some general subject science material covered as well. Coverage: 1949 to date.
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature is a resource for finding nursing and allied health literature: journals, books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, software, research instruments, nursing dissertations, evidence based care sheets, etc. and provides full text for 391 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Coverage: 1937 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication Source Provides articles in areas related to communication and mass media. Originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coronavirus Research Database ProQuest built this database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The company is working together with institutions all over the world to offer support as they navigate through the coronavirus pandemic. This launch of the Coronavirus Research Database is the latest in a series of programs to help librarians, faculty and students.
CQ Researcher Find in-depth coverage of current political events. Each issue provides a summary, the pros-cons, a chronology, and a lengthy bibliography to more sources. 1991 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts Comprehensive international coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines. Coverage: 1968 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental Issues Online Brings together multimedia materials around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (via EBSCO) Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch 40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present.GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Studies Online Access documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. Coverage of Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional areas.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 Primary sources covering 20th-century human migration, including firsthand accounts of post-World War II Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States, the first Gulf War and more. Sources include radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, and government documents gathered daily by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. It covers issues such as xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, and the treatment of refugees.
- This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture Rare archival content, including letters, court documents, periodicals, speeches, interviews and ephemera from local, national and international organizations, as well as notable individuals from around the world, to trace the history of LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the late 19th century to the present day.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies This collection examines prison populations and their relationship to major prison labor systems; and how correctional facilities may serve as central service providers for those with mental health issues.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PRISMA Database Includes 165 full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Public Administration Abstracts Articles in areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, like urbanism, transportation, police administration, recreation, housing, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts Provides abstracts from 1,300+ journals and dissertations in fields of social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development. Has automatic citation builder. 1979 to present. Abstracts available January 1994 - current.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Work Online With over 100 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text this collection addresses the essential concepts students will employ in their everyday work as practitioners.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Slide Presentation

Sociology 656 from Tiffini Travis

Text of the slides

Title: Sociology 656

Today we will cover….

Basic Search Strategy

Narrowing and Expanding SearchesKeywords vs. Subject Headings

Selecting the right database

Managing your citations

Finding additional help

Basic Search Strategy

AND Narrows a search and ensures that both terms appear in same record

Terms have different meanings

example: internet AND socialization

OR broadens a search and looks for synonyms.

example: (punks or skinheads) always use parenthesis around OR terms

Narrowing and expanding

The Asterisk Can look for multiple endings of a word or plurals

for example: theor* will search for the following words: theory, theories, theoretical

Proximity is phrase searching. Proximity searching allows you to specify how close you want your terms to appear in the record

For example: social w1 identity = social identity = “social identity”

Narrowing and expanding

Keyword Searches: Search the title, abstract, subjects and in some cases the full text of the record

Subject Searches: Search only the subject or Descriptor line-This makes your searches more specific and better defined

Refworks

First get a Refworks Account

Set up a folder and we are ready to save articles

Dissecting your topic

5 ways to start your search effectively

1.Pick the correct database

2.Match your terminology to the database

3.Search more than one database

4.Keep track of your citations

5.Contact me for help BEFORE you get frustrated!

I am still confused…

Get Additional Help from Tiffini Travis

ttravis@csulb.edu

phone: 562 985-7850

Graduate Level Research

Dissertations & Theses Guide

Web of Science Provides access to high-quality research from the world's leading arts, humanities, science and social science journals. Includes a Cited Reference search. Online coverage is 1993-present. Earlier print versions are in the library.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Sociology Course Guides: SOC 656

Sociology Research

Also Useful

Slide Presentation

Text of the slides

Graduate Level Research

Statistical data

Ask the Sociology Librarian a question