Research Guides: Sociology Course Guides: SOC 100

Finding Articles

Sociological Abstracts Provides access to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences.Coverage: 1952 to date. Updated monthly.
SocINDEX Full Text Abstracts and links to articles in anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, psychology, religion, sociology, social work & many others. Articles back to 1940.
Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ERIC (via EBSCO) Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
APA PsycINFO Contains abstracts and bibliographic citations for the contents of thousands of journals. Also includes references to dissertations, media, and books. Coverage: 1887 to present. Updated quarterly.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Comprehensive international coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines. Coverage: 1968 to present. Updated quarterly.
Global Newsstream U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.

Useful Library Links

Reference List: Basic Rules-APA from OWL at Purdue
ASA citation examples from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University
MLA Style Guide (Purdue University)
Zotero Citation Management Tool Zotero is a citation management tool that helps you to collect, manage and cite citation records with ease. It works well as a Firefox plug-in or a stand-alone for Firefox, Google Chrome and Safari browsers.

Presentation

Soc100 from Tiffini Travis

Ask the Sociology Librarian a question

Office Hours

In Person Office Hours are updated weekly. All In Person Office Hours are on the first floor of the library. NO APPOINTMENT NECESSARY.

IN PERSON and CHAT (1st floor Library Reference Desk)

Sunday, March 30, 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday April 2, 12:00PM - 2:00PM
Wednesday April 16, 12:00PM - 2:00PM
Wednesday April 23, 12:00PM - 2:00PM
Friday April 25, 12:00PM - 2:00PM
Friday May 2, 12:00PM - 2:00PM

ZOOM DROP-IN WORKSHOPS

Thursday March 27, 4-5:30pm (email for link)