Research Guides: Sociology Course Guides: SOC 346

Finding Articles on Race, Gender or Social Class

Academic Search Complete Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life Provides 60 years of recent U.S. and Canadian historical and cultural scholarship in thousands of scholarly journals, books, review articles, & Ph.D. dissertations. Topics range from prehistoric times to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (via EBSCO) Education Resource Information Center, Find information about education, including journal articles, teaching guides, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch 40,000 full text articles from more than 100 international journals, books, magazines and newsletters, plus unpublished papers and conference proceedings and nearly 1,000 special reports devoted to gender and women's issues. Includes articles from the Ethnic NewsWatch database on ethnic and minority women and women of color. Coverage: 1978 to present.GenderWatch allows up to two simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR covers lots of journals that focus on ethnicity, economics, politics, and sociology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
APA PsycINFO For attitudes about race, gender or class
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX Full Text Also for sociological coverage of a topic
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts For the sociological perspective of your topics.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Other sources that contain news and other non scholarly materials

Archives of Sexuality and Gender The full-text documents in the Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture include material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups since 1940. They present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center The Black Studies Center provides access to original articles, scholarly essays, timelines, images, and film clips, in addition to full-text access to The Chicago Defender, 1910-1975. Coverage: 1910 to date. Updated: monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-present Newspaper and periodical articles written by and about various ethnic groups in the United States including Latinos/Hispanic, African/Caribbean, Jewish, Middle Eastern, Native American, Eastern European, and Asian American.Coverage: 1959 to date. Updated monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream U.S. and international news sources. More than 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Updated daily.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Slide Presentation

Soc 346 from Tiffini Travis

Useful Library Links

Reference List: Basic Rules-APA from OWL at Purdue
ASA citation examples from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University
Zotero Citation Management Tool Zotero is a citation management tool that helps you to collect, manage and cite citation records with ease. It works well as a Firefox plug-in or a stand-alone for Firefox, Google Chrome and Safari browsers.
BibGuru (ASA)
Use this for converting your journal citations into ASA.
more...less...
Select the option for "Articles" and paste in the article title (from the databases) you want to generate a reference for.

Sociology Course Guides: SOC 346

Finding Articles on Race, Gender or Social Class

Other sources that contain news and other non scholarly materials

Slide Presentation

Useful Library Links

Ask the Sociology Librarian